Motivation logo

Challenge Accepted

Are you upto one?

By Mel CookPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
growth is a journey....

I don't know who may need to hear this today but I want to start out by saying this. You are worthy, you are strong, you are loved, you are enough! With that being said I wish nothing but the best for ya. I will not tell you what to do here but I will try to be honest with ya on a few things.

I feel like most people want something they cant to have. We all tend to think we are in control. We all can set our expectations a little too high at times. Not saying that is nessacailly a bad thing, but common.

I personally have humbled myself. I like to be in control and by thinking I'm in control I tend to sip out of control I myself set my expectations a little too high and set myself up for disaster. I am needy, I seek attention. I make a lot of mistakes. I am a fighter but I surrender.

Here is where this article gets fun. Fun for me at least. Hopefully it will be for you too. Wish ya nothing but the best and warm wishes.

I know me. Im well aware of the things me being me has gotten. I want more outta life. I want to succeed and not fail as much. I feel like I have been applying life the wrong way. I work hard but have little or nothing to show for it. I want happiness but I've looked in all the wrong places. Here is what I'm starting to do. If something is easy... Thanks but no thanks. I don't want it anymore. I'm starting reverse psychology on myself. YEAH! Im excited to see where this goes too... lol

I'm 36, recently single, just starting my own business, and starting to work on my writing career. Here is my challenge. If something is easy, I don't want it.

I'm lonely, the easy thing for me to do is pick up the phone. Text message, call, or Fb. Someone will be there in time of need. That's easy but you can't make people care. You shouldn't expect me to move the same way at the said time. I'm a little bit weird like that. LOL! I tend to make an ass out of myself sometimes.

So, I'm going to start playing hard to get. Yes, we all love a good challenge. Now, keep in mind, I don't think by you not putting yourself out there is really playing hard to get. Basically, all you do by not putting yourself out there is be alone. Sometimes thats what ya need. Up to you. I love me, I always had a little confidence and knew I have a good heart.

My new business is just starting up. Progress is slow but it's a work in progress. My writing is taking a life of its own but struggles with bringing in an income. I'm excited to see where things go.

I leave you with this,

Are you stuck in the same loop and not getting the results you want. Are you searching for happiness and can't find it? Are you quick to tell others what they should do or how you feel they need something? Are you stuck in what feels like a dead-end job? Are you overly happy? Are you severely depressed? Feel like you should be doing the opposite of what you're doing? Do it!

P.S

My opinion is to start small. Very small. This is not a quick fix to your solutions. I am saying take your time, lower your expectations, breathe, and let go. Are you up for the challenge?

self help
Like

About the Creator

Mel Cook

I am thirty-five years old and come from a life of hard knocks. I am a free thinker, creative, problem-solver, and lover at best. I am a slave, manipulator, problem solver, and hater at worst.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.