Motivation logo

Career Change?

Do I need to be satisfied?

By Anastasia BarthPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Career Change?
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

Have you ever become unsatisfied with your current career path? I'm sure many people have been. I had been pretty satisfied with my career path. It isn't the most glamorous, nor the best career nor even the most lucrative. I was a retail worker. I loved it for a long time, especially when I was working for the right store.

Walgreens had to be my all-time favorite store to work in. Yeah they were open 365 days a year, but I loved the culture, and I loved what I did. I didn't only check customers out at the check out, I didn't only stock, I helped people with their photos. That was the best part of the entire job. All of the other stuff came second to that one part of the job. There were major perks to it too. I could void items that I scanned twice on my own. Yeah, I couldn't do my own drops, but I could take items out of the system when they were damaged or expired. I was in charge of an entire section of the store by myself! By. My. Self. I was able to print new tags (which are called mylars) on my own, no help from the manager. I was able to do a majority of things on my own, but I still also had the structure of a list of things to do. It had enough freedom, and yet enough structure to keep me happy. I had to leave due to my ex-husband wanting to me to take a more lucrative retail position with a Mom and Pop shop, and I hated it, even though I was 100% in control of myself and what I did at work.

My current retail job, I loved for a while. I've had it since November and enjoyed myself. I enjoy helping people. Heck I even enjoyed taking on challenging customers. I had to take a month and a half off due to a person in my family having Corona Virus, and I possibly having caught it myself. I was still satisfied with my job when I left. I was still satisfied with my job when I returned - or so I thought. Things started not satisfying me anymore. I started resenting it. I have been in retail for 8 years. 8 happy years. I loved it, in spite of problem customers. I loved helping people, and now it doesn't seem like that's enough.

I haven't been with the same store for 8 years. I know that's a problem, but I've been with in the same industry for 8 years. A co-worker of mine has been in retail for 30 some odd years, and I don't want to be like her. I've loved retail while I've been in it, but its not what I imagined doing with my life, and its not what I want to imagine myself doing in the future. I want more. This journey hasn't been all sunshine and roses either; I've had bad bosses, I've had bad customers, I've had hard times. I still loved it in spite of that. This is different. This feels different. I don't like this feeling. I feel... lost... For the first time ever.

I've always been a goal orientated person. When I was in Elementary School, my goal was to get to Middle School. When I was in Middle School my goal was to get to High School. When I was in High School my goal was to get into the University I would later attend. The end goal being the goal to be a Kindergarten teacher; which I would never achieve. I did the stupid thing, got swept up with a boy, and decided to go and do his major instead. I know dumb, but at least I got a bachelors out of the deal right? Wrong. I got a crippling pile of debt, and a bachelors that isn't even close to what my passions are. Teaching wasn't even really a passion now that I mull it over.

Writing and reading have always been my passions. Its real hard to make a living off of being a writer. J.K. Rowling's fame is super rare. I know that even as I decide to change directories at 32 years of age. All I want to do is write. I know I'm not the best or the most technical at it. As it is to write these articles well enough to be approved I have to use an editor web page named scribens.com. I love writing though, I love to read, and heck if I could write about reading I think that's would be a perfect medium. Heck, I think I like writing so much that's why my Facebook posts get so long winded. I think that's why I find something to get upset over, or something to be passionate about and write until I'm exhausted. Then, after I'm done writing it I feel... sated... happy... and complete.

I just hope that someday this passion for writing can translate into something I can make a living off of. Something that isn't just a "hobby." I want to write about anything and everything. I love writing about my feelings, interests and my family most of all. I think I cling on to writing long Facebook posts about controversial subjects because I love writing so much. It was the only way to do it until I learned about Vocal. Vocal has been an excellent outlet and has helped me hone more of my skills. Yes, I would love to write and publish my own book, and am currently working on one, but being able to write at all is a joy in itself.

I've been reading and writing since I was a little girl. In second grade my teacher let me write little books, and we would even give them a cover and a title. The other kids did it too, but I think I enjoyed it the most, and made the most books. I think. I was told something similar by my Mom, but you know Moms... they can be pretty biased! Anyway, I've always had an overactive, vivid imagination, or so I had thought until I encounter another idea I think its pretty neat. For example: like Brennan Lee Mulligan's worlds he makes up for his "Dimension 20" campaigns on Dropout and College Humors YouTube channel! I know I have my own ideas, and perhaps they're not too bad either.

I just want to be happy in what I am doing. I know I can't make an immediate living off of writing. Hopefully, if I write enough articles here for Vocal and am able to give enough examples of my writing, and practice enough then I will get to a level where I can almost live off of it, or at least supplement my income and I guess that will have to be enough. Let's hope I can get that far!

goals
1

About the Creator

Anastasia Barth

A woman, mother, survivor. If you like the eclectic, then you've come to the right place. Everything you can think of, I will most likely talk about at once point or another.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.