Journal logo

New Account, New Adventure

Starting a new journey...

By Anastasia BarthPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
New Account, New Adventure
Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

Well, when I started my journey with my original account here on vocal I thought that I'd be there forever, but once I learned that because of some personal reasons that I would not be able to change the information on my old stripe account without engaging with someone from my past that is dangerous and toxic - well here I am. New account, new me I guess. That's just how its going to have to go isn't it? I have no other choice, am going to miss my old articles, and on the revenue I could be getting from those articles. Heck, a $20.00 tip went straight to my ex. I didn't see a penny of it. Ah, well. At least I hadn't gotten very popular.

That's the thing, isn't it?I have to learn how to be flexible and go with the flow. I decided I would start a new account since I can't seem to delete the old one, nor can I suspend it. That also means I can't re-publish my old work under this new account either. That makes me sad, because some of those articles I put tons of work into. The one I was proudest of was "Over Looked Heroes," well at least my opinion is out there, and its shared with the world, I guess that's all I can really ask for, huh?

I wish things had been different, but I can start on a new adventure from here. I don't have to stay in the mold that I had made for myself on the old account. I mostly published works that were geeky and nerdy. I do want to do that and want to stay with that, but I also want to branch out to more of what is happening in the world today. Most of all of my works are opinion based and always will be. I have strong opinions that I want to share.

I was also in a different place with my last account. I had just left an abusive relationship. I was getting to know myself again. I was working on remembering what my opinions were, and not flinching on the inside for expressing them. I was getting more brave and direct with what I thought. I was getting used to the idea that since it was my opinion, I had a right to share it. I was getting back into the groove of writing, and getting my self-confidence back. I look back at that work, and while its okay, it could be better. While it had a passion behind it, it wasn't all there. It was a half account, so if my ex makes any money off of what little is there. Good for him I guess.

Stripe needed several things to prove that I owned the account. Unfortunately because of the situation with my ex and the fact that he is a dangerously manipulative, toxic narcissistic person I couldn't get the information that they needed. I know that they have to authenticate that the person that owns the account is the person they are interacting with. They're only doing their jobs. I was mad, but because I work with the public myself I understood why. Any Joe-blow could say the same and steal what is rightfully someones hard earned money. Its something preventable, and having those policies in place prevents stealing or fraud. I get it, that doesn't make me any less sore, though.

Well, I guess on to a new adventure and a new account. Onward to new articles, opinions and topics.This article will be the christening to this new account. It will be the new start in a hopefully a long journey and relationship with Vocal.

Raise a glass to all the new and forget the old. We have new adventures to go on, new articles to write, maybe the same old opinions but with a new place to find them.

Thank you for reading. If you like my work leave a tip or share the article. I appreciate each read, and have a nice day!

workflow
2

About the Creator

Anastasia Barth

A woman, mother, survivor. If you like the eclectic, then you've come to the right place. Everything you can think of, I will most likely talk about at once point or another.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.