Motivation logo

Building My Dream World

A list of my top six business ideas. I’ll keep getting more ideas over time!

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 12 min read
5
Building My Dream World
Photo by Katlyn Giberson on Unsplash

Since I was fourteen years old, my dream was to own a business. During my youth, I would pay weekly visits to this family-operated European deli to purchase candy, cookies, pastries and beverages. As I became a regular customer, I began to develop a meaningful rapport with the owner and her daughters. They were my first sources of inspiration to operating my own business one day.

Of course, there were other sources of inspiration.

My stepbrothers have been owning an in-home Hockey autograph signing business since 2009 and they've been truly devoted to it ever since. I couldn't believe they could run a successful business at such young ages and it blew my mind. I told myself that if they could do it at such young ages, I could do it one day!

In Grade 11, I attended a series of vocational workshops for adolescents with special needs. I soaked up as much information as I can. They were interactive and purposeful workshops to attend. During one of the workshops, I discovered that a young woman with special needs operated her own sweet shoppe. That story inspired me so much that I refused to let go of my dream of having my own establishment one day.

Her disability didn't prevent her from chasing her dream. That applies to me.

By Jamie Albright on Unsplash

Since the pandemic, I've come up with all kinds of ideas based on my strengths, weaknesses, personal interests and experience. My ideas are always changing, but the dream of being a proprietress remains the same. I'd like to leverage my recreation and leisure services background with my longtime passions: gaming, puzzling, reading, making art, food and drink, Russian culture, music, helping others heal physically and mentally, and technology. There are heaps of business ideas I have, but I'd like to share my top six business ideas I have with you!

1. An internet/digital gaming cafe

By Leon Seibert on Unsplash

Technology is in high demand nowadays. A wide variety of technological devices are used for all kinds of purposes and it’s popular amongst the younger populations. The gaming communities are growing rapidly and more people are relying on the Internet and social media for educational, vocational, intellectual and recreational reasons.

I remember going to my first Internet cafe when I was in my tweens. I used to live 4-5 minutes away from one, so whenever I needed to use the Internet and I couldn’t use it at home, I’d pay a visit to the Internet cafe. This was way before I was granted permission to have my own library card. Now that I have a library card and a home office, I don’t depend on Internet cafes anymore.

Although I don’t pay visits to any Internet cafes in my adulthood, I came up with the crazy idea of owning one after discovering a few Chinese-owned Internet/digital gaming cafes that are not too far from where I reside. These Internet/digital gaming cafes are a luxury; they offer food and beverage and the atmosphere is homey. Patrons can come and enjoy playing a wide variety of digital games, have some food and drinks and/or just surf the web.

I dream of owning an Internet/digital gaming cafe in which patrons can come and enjoy playing a wide variety of digital games on the computer, indulge in some imported food and drinks, study, and/or randomly surf the web. I’d have separate computer rooms: one would be for surfing the web, playing free PC games/studying, printing, photocopying, another one would be for digital gaming. The customers can enjoy a wide variety of digital games like chess, checkers, backgammon, etc. There would be an additional fee to play those games.

The atmosphere would be homey. Comfy chairs and sofas would be in the digital gaming lounge. Regular tables and chairs would be in the PC room. The facility would include signs in Braille, English, Russian and Hebrew, so people who are either visually impaired or have limited English language abilities can get around. The menus would be written in Braille, English and Russian. The washrooms would be fully wheelchair-accessible and gender-neutral. The place would offer free pairs of noise cancelling headphones for patrons who have sensitivities to loud noises.

2. A puzzle/board game cafe

By Ross Sneddon on Unsplash

I've been an avid puzzler and board game player since I was 13 years old. Solving puzzles and playing board games are a great way to not just take time for yourself, but also to form a bond with your family and friends. I haven't played board games in quite a while, but I enjoy solving jigsaw puzzles and playing solitaire. I'd like to one day get back into playing board games such as Rummy-Q, Chess, Scrabble and Jenga. I don't have many people to play these games with nowadays, so I'd most likely play them digitally or I'd find solitaire versions of these games.

When I was 14 years old, my best friend and I paid our first visit to a Toronto-based board game cafe that a camp counsellor told me about. She loved going there so much that she recommended I go there. Our first visit was one of the most memorable moments I've had. I don't remember the exact names of the games she and I played at the time, but I remember us indulging in all kinds of housemade treats. I had a cookies and cream milkshake. I paid several visits to Snakes and Lattes ever since that afternoon of August 12, 2012.

Snakes and Lattes was not the first board game cafe I paid a visit to.

There were several board game cafes scattered along the city and I'd go to different ones with family and friends. Another one I used to visit with a good friend was For the Win. It was located in the midtown part of Toronto and it wasn't too far from where I used to live at the time. Although I lived in the North York section of Toronto, it was easy to get to. It took me a minimum of 10 minutes to get to and from For the Win.

At some point, I'd love to operate my own puzzle/board game cafe in Richmond Hill, Vaughan or North York. There are no cafes that enable people to pay a minimum of $5.00 to solve jigsaw puzzles, so I believe it would be a bonus to the community. I'd love to have a cafe in which people would pay a small fee ($5.oo for adults, $3.00 for seniors and $2.00 for children 12 and under) to have unlimited puzzle and game play with their friends and family, and enjoy some imported snacks, cold and hot beverages and frozen treats. I'd have not only jigsaw puzzles from 20-1000 pieces, but also games like chess, checkers, backgammon, monopoly, scrabble, mahjong, risk, monopoly, Chinese chess, pick up sticks, yahtzee and I'd also have a few decks of playing cards. I'd also have board games and puzzles in Russian. The games and puzzles would be for children, adults and the visually impaired.

The atmosphere would be cozy and vintage-looking. It'd be painted in bright but subtle colours and would be autism-friendly. The lights won't be too bright and the background music won't be played too loud. There would be a wheelchair accessible washroom, wheelchair accessible entrance and exit, and wheelchair accessible seating areas. Sofas, comfy spots and tables would also be included. I'd hire people from all different backgrounds.

3. A used bookstore/snack bar

By Eduardo Goody on Unsplash

I've been dreaming of operating a used bookstore for the last several years. Since I was a teenager, I'd been a regular patron of a variety of used bookstores in the Greater Toronto Area. I believe used bookstores are a fantastic asset to the community, because they allow enthusiastic and regular readers to spend less money on books, as well as allowing readers to donate and/or sell any used books. It's not just beneficial for book shoppers, but also for the community, because used bookstores allow people to give back to their communities.

I'm a strong believer in having used bookstores and I encourage people to build more of them.

I'd not just want to operate my own used bookstore and a small snack bar where patrons can come in, shop for books, sell/donate books and/or relax with their favourite snacks and drinks. I'd have sofas, tables and chairs where customers can sit and enjoy their time at the establishment. All of the snacks I'd be selling would be vegan and gluten-free, but I'd also be selling products that have gluten in them. For beverages, I'd be selling juice, water, soda, coffee, tea and vegan hot cocoa. The products would be imported, so I wouldn't have to worry about hiring cooks and bakers. I'd also hire people from all different background.

4. A souvenir store that's employed by people with special needs

By Timothy Perry on Unsplash

For a long time, I’ve believed that people with special needs can achieve just as much as people without special needs. They are people too. They have likes, dislikes, strengths, weaknesses, desires and feelings. They shouldn’t be treated differently than others.

As an individual whose lived with special needs since I was 2 years old, I truly know that people like me have the capacity to make a positive contribution to society. We may think, feel and act differently, but that doesn’t mean we’re unable to operate in the community. We may have strengths and weaknesses, however that doesn’t mean we’re unable to learn and flourish.

My dream is to operate a souvenir store that’s employed by individuals with special needs like Autism, Down Syndrome, Cerebral Palsy, etc. This is because I want to explain to the world that people with disabilities are often stigmatized and excluded from society and we need to put an end to that. People with special needs need to be accommodated and have the right to work. Times are getting better and community spaces like workplaces and malls are becoming more inclusive, but there’s always room for improvement. Hopefully by owning this special needs-owned souvenir shop, the world will continue to understand how people with special needs are just as capable as people without special needs.

At the souvenir store, I’d be selling imported snacks and beverages, lottery tickets, magazines, books of all types, pencils, pens, toys, etc. I’d hire a graphic designer or artist to make the t-shirts and other apparel. The store would be spacious enough to not just let enough customers come in and shop, but to also allow people who use wheelchairs and walkers to enter the store. The store signs would not just be written in English, but also in Braille. This way, people with visual impairments can read the signs and have a comfortable shopping trip.

5. A metaphysical healing store and sanctuary

By Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

I had the desire to embark on my spiritual journey after paying a visit to a privately-owned spiritual healing store near where I live. I loved both the owner and the store that I kept going back to either window shop or purchase items like energy rocks, herbal tea, etc. I became amazed by the hard work and knowledge that the owner had, so I had the idea of owning my own metaphysical healing store.

The shop would not just be a place where people can purchase products like energy rocks, essential oils, etc. The store would also include in-store services like nutritional counselling, reiki healing, crystal healing, life coaching, etc. The services would be in multiple languages like English Russian, Hebrew, Turkish, Spanish, French, Chinese, Korean, Tagalog and Farsi. The facility would be wheelchair- accessible and disability friendly.

6. An arts and crafts cafe and studio

By Mick Haupt on Unsplash

Like I’ve explained multiple times, art has been close to my heart since I was a toddler. I have a diploma in recreation and leisure services and practice art on a regular basis. I worked as an arts and crafts instructor at a summer camp for 3 years. It was one of the best first paid jobs I’ve ever had and I speak highly of both my colleagues and campers I’ve worked with.

My job at the summer camp is the primary reason why opening up an arts and crafts cafe and studio would be another option to consider.

The arts and crafts cafe and studio would be a place operated not just by me but also painters, illustrators, knitters, jewellery makers, and other types of artists on the spectrum. The studio part of the cafe would be for the employees and other professional artists to work on their projects for personal and professional purposes. The cafe would be a place where people can pay a fee ($10.00 for adults, $8.00 for seniors and $5.00 for children under 12) to enjoy doing a wide variety of in-house arts and crafts activities like knitting, crocheting, painting, drawing, sculpting with fimo, diamond painting, painting by numbers, colouring (for both kids and adults), and jewellery making. There would be imported desserts and snacks, as well as hot and cold beverages for the customers to indulge in. Employees and artists can take advantage of free beverages and treats every day! I’d also cater to all events like birthday parties, ladies nights, break and summer camps, etc. The cafe would also include free WiFi and a debit/credit card machine.

To promote inclusivity, the atmosphere would be autism-friendly and wheelchair-accessible. The washrooms, cafe, entrance and exit would be wheelchair accessible. The washrooms would also be gender-neutral. Signs and menus would be written in English, Braille and Russian, so that people with visual impairments and people with limited English language abilities can get around and read the menu without an issue. Background music would be on low volume and lighting would be kept to a minimum. I’d paint the cafe and studio bright but subtle colours. The cafe part would include plastic chairs and tables, and the studio would be include easels and wooden chairs.

By Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my Vocal stories! If you enjoyed reading this, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more awesome content!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

goals
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I particularly like the bookstore and the art store for those with disabilities. I really believe small book stores are making a comeback and this idea looks really cool. I also believe anywhere people can express their creative process it is a gem. Some really great ideas ♥️

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    That is a great list of business ideas. You sure do have a lot of nitches. Cannot wait to see which one you will gravitate to start first ♥️

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Amazing goals!!! Loved reading your story!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.