Motivation logo

Blah Blah Blah

Ignorance really can be bliss.

By sarah cay smithPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

You know that saying, “ignorance is bliss.” I truly believe that to be true sometimes. If there is negativity in my peripheral, I immediately block it out. I can’t be around negativity for very long because I somehow get pulled back into that world of hurt, anger, and sadness. Don’t get me wrong, I will be there for you when you’re hurt, angry, or sad, but if I’m going about my day and negativity starts to creep in from a random source, I need to leave.

Today, of all days (a Monday), I had a really bad day. I had to work super early in the morning, came back to sleep a little before class, and ended up sleeping through my alarms. I was unable to turn on the lights in my room because my roommate was sleeping and I really just had no motivation to go outside. It was simply one of those days.

But once I got out of my room and into the sunlight, I felt much better. Once I was able to get out of my own head, I could analyze the negativity that had been surrounding me, trapping me in a corner with no escape. I like to think of negativity as a rollercoaster. It makes you go up and down in life, maybe go upside down for a split second, and ultimately puts you back in the same place you once were. I like to think of escaping this rollercoaster with the “chicken” doors for people who, at the last minute, do not want to ride the scary ride. Every single time, I try to make it to the chicken door. Sometimes it works and I can escape into the sunlight and go find a different ride that is not so bad, but sometimes it doesn’t work. For some reason, my feet start walking back to the lines, and I willingly or unwillingly strap myself in for a whirlwind of negativity. Once I’m free, I try to reevaluate what went wrong. Why did I let myself turn back? Where in the world did I turn my life upside down or cause an issue due to negative thinking? Who could I have hurt in this process and how do I make amends?

If you find yourself here, take a minute to relax. Negative thoughts and actions are so draining and it’s important to realize their weight, but also be able to turn from it just as easily. Do not let yourself get weighed down by the thoughts and actions, distance yourself from wherever they are coming from. Heal from it. Learn from it. And do better the next time.

I have had friends in the past who dragged me down by their negativity and it became so unbearable to me I had to confront the issue. Unfortunately, we are no longer friends, but it is okay because the people I am friends with support me in distancing myself from constant negativity. I thought I tried my hardest in that friendship, but looking back I could have done so much more. If you have tried your hardest and it still ends with a broken friendship, my heart goes out to you. It is such a hard thing to endure, and I have been there. You are not alone. Know that you are doing what’s best for your mental health and that is all that matters. I would still encourage you to evaluate yourself and see how you could have made the situation better. Maybe there truly was nothing you could do, but it was mature enough of you to think about it.

Remember that negativity can come in all forms, especially social media. Be very cautious about who you follow and how their posts make you feel. If all you feel is negative thoughts after seeing their post, all you need to do is unfollow them. If they have an issue with it, I hope they are mature enough if/when they confront you about it. Social media is the biggest negative influence in my life which is why I try to limit my interactions with it.

Your state of mind is important to your health and your life. Take care of yourself, and if there is too much talk, walk away.

xoxo,

Sarah Cay

happiness
Like

About the Creator

sarah cay smith

just a college gal trying to survive. fluent in spanish and not so fluent in eating healthy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.