Motivation logo

Blessed

Count your blessings, there are more than you think.

By sarah cay smithPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

If your mom is anything like mine you may have heard this a million times growing up, “count your blessings.” Yes, when you’re younger you get annoyed, but this simple phrase can help so much when you feel like you have nothing.

I have been there, many times, feeling like I have nothing, no one, and nobody cares. It’s a dreadful feeling, one made up of lies that are simply too convincing. However, if you stop to count your blessings I know that you will be able to see just how lucky you are.

Do you have a bed to sleep in? Did you eat food today? Drink clean water? If you don’t have these things, I am deeply sorry because these are such basic human needs. Reach out to your local food bank, churches, and city governments to see how you can acquire these basic needs. If you do have these things, then what else could you need?

Do you have a parent or parent figure? Do you have a best friend or a significant other? Do you have the ability to go talk to a professional who can be your safe space? If you don’t have any of these, find someone. It is hard to make friends, hard to find family in your friends, but once you have a safe space, you can improve so much in yourself and your life.

Often times we take for granted the amazing aspects of our lives. I’m mostly preaching to myself on this one, I’m extremely guilty of not looking at the positives and only thinking about the worst case scenario. If the glass spills even a drop, I think about what it would be like if it was half empty, or completely empty.

Yes, I realize that I am an overthinker, a worry-wart, an anxious person. This is simply my anxiety that, at times, overwhelms me so much I feel like I might be drowning. Anxiety can feel like a ten feet deep hole that you can’t climb out of. It is scary and definitely not a fun place to be at.

I am five foot three inches tall and I think my anxiety is ten feet seven inches tall because it towers over me like a monster. However, counting my blessings makes that monster shrink back down to normal size (normal meaning a size I can contain relatively easy).

There are so many beautiful aspects of life. I believe it is imperative to recognize the hard, acknowledge the hurt, and let yourself feel how deep it hits, but I also believe that we can only live like that for so long. Look at the sky and recognize how beautiful it is. Acknowledge the hundreds of people around you who have also gone through hell and back, they may be someone you connect with so well. Let yourself feel how deep the joy hits when you take your first spoonful of ice cream.

You can do this, this thing we call life. It is hard and easy and painful and amazing. You can overcome anything, put in the work, time, and even some tears and you’ll get there. Remember who your biggest cheerleaders are in life and let them cheer you on, but don’t forget to turn around and cheer for them back. Lean on your support system and trust your gut.

In every season of life, there are ups and downs, but you are the one who decides how to let those ups and downs affect your life. Your reaction to everything is key to being successful.

Count your blessings, darling. You have so much going for you.

xoxo,

Sarah Cay

advice
Like

About the Creator

sarah cay smith

just a college gal trying to survive. fluent in spanish and not so fluent in eating healthy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.