Motivation logo

Best Organization Tips

Need to get organized but don't know where to start? Here are some easy tips to help you get started

By Talara NolanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Best Organization Tips
Photo by Paul Hanaoka on Unsplash

I love having things organized all the time. Though I know that it is not that easy for everyone. If you are not a naturally organized person, you might think that you don't need things to be organized, you work best when it's not. However, if you just try it you will be surprised how much easier it will make your life. And it doesn't have to cost you a lot of money either.

Use what you have around the house

When most people think about getting things organized they usually think that you need to go out and buy a bunch of stuff in order to be organized. However, that is not the case. Think about what you have already around your house. When I wanted to redo my daughter's room trying to get things more organized, I used what was in my house. I had this cabinet in her room that was not being used. So I used it to store her toys so that they could get off the ground. It doesn't necessarily have to be the prettiest thing in order to be organized for you.

Bin storage for kids toys

If you have kids, then you know the kid toy struggle. They always have a lot of pieces that somehow always end up on the floor. The single best thing that I got for my daughter's room was bin storage. I was keeping her toys in large bins all together. And it was impossible to find things. So I got shelves that come with bins to keep things separated. The most important thing for kids is to make things very visual. If they can't see it then they will throw everything everywhere to find that one thing they want. So make sure you get bins that are open, and they can easily see what is in the bin. If you don't have it, trust me it will change your life. And it's the one thing that you should purchase. They have some great ones on Wayfair that are not overly expensive.

Make kids clothes foolproof

My daughter doesn't have shelves and only uses the closet. So everything that she has is hung up. I like it put the whole outfit on the hanger. So that when picking out clothes the pants and shirts are already together. As she gets older this makes it easier for her to pick out her own clothes. And it doesn't take any longer to hang it together.

Make things visual

You want to make sure that things are visual as possible. If you can't see it then you will forget that you have it and that can of course lead to over purchasing things. If you have cabinets that go up and not across, then you get cheap shelves that go upwards instead of across. The dollar store is a great place for these, and you can get them for a couple bucks.

Glass candle jars make great storage

I love candles. Once you burn most of the candle it is very easy to clean it out so that you can use it for any storage you would like. I love using them as candy jars so storage for little things, such as my daughters small tiny hair ties. There are two ways that you can clean out your glass candle jars. Usually you will end up with a layer of wax at the bottom. If you put boiling water in it and leave it there for a while, then the wax will come up to the top. You can then just leave it out, and you can use it in a wax burner if you have one. You can also put it in the freezer for a while. Then using a sharp object such as a flat head screwdriver you have to crack the wax, and it should come right out. No matter what way that you do, make sure that you clean it well with hot water and soap. You should be able to peel the surrounding sticker off if it has one. If there is a bottom sticker, and you find it hard to get off, then soak it in hot water to help loosen it up.

Put things in order

If you have a lot of something, such as movies or books, then the best way to store them is to have them in order. I put my movies in alphabetical order so that I can find things when I need them very easily. Again if you can't find something then you will forget they are there and not use them.

Reuse boxes you get for storage

I get a bunch of subscription boxes. And they almost always come in pretty boxes. The boxes are great to reuse to storage different things, and they are pretty on your shelf.

Airlock clear containers for food storage

For your food storage the best thing you can purchase are clear airlock containers. It makes it so that you can easily see how much of something that you have. And it will also help your food to last longer as getting air into your food is the quickest way for it to go bad.

Pair down to what you really need to use

The most important thing I can suggest is to pair down what you have. When you are organizing things look at things and think when it was the last time that I used this. If it wasn't recent, then maybe you don't need it. The best way to be organized is to have only the stuff that you really need, love and use. You will be surprised when you start to really go through things how much stuff you have that you don't use. The best way to be organized is to have less stuff, the most stuff you have then the harder it is to be organized. It's about quality not quantity.

Thank you so much for reading. I hope these tips have helped you. If no one told you today you are enough, and you are appreciated for just who you are.

- T

goals
2

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.