Motivation logo

ADULTING IS HARD.

WHY DIDN'T I KNOW THIS BEFORE I MOVED OUT FROM HOME?

By ruth daniellesPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

1.This is your house

That's right. This is your house and you have to be responsible for it. There's no doubt that you will glam up and decorate you house however you want, setting your own rules and everything. However, all that, doesn't come without a little bit of work. You have to make sure that everything is catered for; shopping, cleaning and keeping your house organized, because no one is going to do that for you.

2. Bills are real and nothing is free

If anyone told me that I would literally have to pay for everything I want, I would probably stay at my parent's house a little longer, being all sheltered under all that free stuff. Everything appeared all done and taken care of and now that you've moved out, you realize that there's no magic in the game. You have to work and pay rent, utilities, cars and whatever bills you have and still be able to eat amongst other things.

3.We all get broke at some point

There is always a season where one is doing well financially and it is not uncommon for you to spend money lavishly to reward yourself for all your hard work. Sometimes we end up spending all of our money and the seasons change. it is important for you to save as much as you can when you have money to be able to cater for the not so good times and if you're still living in your parents' home, save until your pockets fall out.

4.It's okay to be selfish

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying being selfish is a good thing, I just mean it's okay to keep some money for yourself. Don't deny yourself good things or even opportunities to help a friend or family member who doesn't really need your help and might be taking advantage of you, because you are loaded. Spend your money wisely and know how to keep it.

5.Network!

In all walks of life, we all need people we rely on, whether now or in the future. Make friends everywhere you go, you never know where your best self grows from.It's important to have people around you who will help build you and your character and help you build contact and sphere of influence. This may come in handy if you get friends who have a lot in common with you, so if you're shy, try and gather up some courage and make yourself some friends.

I've learned a lot about being a grownup and I'm surprised about how little i knew about life. Nevertheless, I'm still growing and I'm happy to be able to enjoy the goodness and joy of becoming an adult, and making my own decisions. I hope we all do the best to becoming our best selves and allow good things to flow through us.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.