Motivation logo

Adjusting to New Environments

You May Feel Alone, But You're Not!

By Sylvester LongPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like

It can be very difficult sometimes adjusting to new environments. When I left my hometown of Columbus, Georgia, I felt like it was time because I felt that I done everything that was needed to be done there. For a while, I was wanting to leave and venture out to new places. I will never forget telling myself that "when I leave and go to this place or that place, I'll be doing this, doing that, exploring new things, and so much more". It was an exciting thought for sure.

In late 2022, God blessed me with the chance to embark on a new ventire for my career in another city. And it wasn't just any city, it was Miami, FL of all places. Florida was one state that I thought about wanting to go to in terms of moving and such. I just did not know when or how it was going to happen. But I had to trust God through it all.

7 months later of being here in Miami, it has been an interesting transition. But at the same time, it has been hard. I won't act like it has been a piece of cake. I love my job. I love what I do. I needed this move for myself. And I truly thank God for even allowing this opportunity to come my way. So far though, the hardest for me has been making friends or finding the right community for me.

Honestly, I have had numerous days/months where I cried myself to sleep at night. The loneliness gets real. I miss my friends and family a lot. I wish I had friends down here in Miami. I have roommates, but that is all they are: roommates. They have their own friends and it is very cliqued up to a degree. I can't really say they are my friends.

My co-workers are my co-workers; I try my best not to mix my work life with my personal life, you know? I sometimes feel like the odd ball at work too. My co-workers have some dynamic experience in the sports industry, and I am just stepping foot in the industry as a full-time worker after a few years of searching, hunting, and grinding. I will hear their stories, adn I sit there and listen because I don't have much to input. Also, I will hear them talk about their significant others or family members that are in Miami or near here and how they spend their time with them at different places down here. I don't give much input on that either.

I know that it takes time to find the right kind of people to be around. I understand that for sure. But sometimes, that feeling of loneliness creeps up on me. It creeps on me to the point of tears coming down and having thoughts like "when will I find the right people?".

When holidays like Christmas, Father's Day, Mother's Day, 4th of July and such came around, I couldn't fly home unfortunately. I talk to my family on the phone which was nice. But it wasn't the same. I talk to my friends from back home on the phone too, which is nice. But also, it's hard because we are so far apart. The closest family I have in Florida is in Pensacola, which is 9+ hours from me.

I am crying my eyes out as I type this out. One thing I am doing my best to to do is remind myself that God is with me everywhere I go. I may feel alone in the physical sense, but whether I see it or not, God is right there with me every step of the way. He's a friend that sticks closer than any brother. Isaiah 41:10 says "Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous".

I say all of this to let you know something: give yourself grace and compassion. It will never be easy adjusting to a new place. It's going to be a hard journey. But, that does not mean that you will not survive. That does not mean that you will not press your way through. You can do it! Give it to God. He is right there with you, whether you may see it or not. Let Him in. Let Him be there for you. Let His unfailing love and spirit be in you, with you, and a part of you.

Press your way through! Keep trucking!

adviceself helphealing
Like

About the Creator

Sylvester Long

I am a musician, motivational speaker, college sports administrator, and author. I want to help others by sharing my testimony and let others know that you are not alone!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anjannette Williams 9 months ago

    Thank you for this! It is very encouraging and enlightening. I've been in this position when I was younger and I truly can relate. I had to push forward and trust that God had me through it all. Eventually, I made some friends and they became great aspects of my life. I would say don't be afraid to give your input in those conversations and go so far as to ask questions about their experiences they discuss because you never know when you will encounter something similar. Don't be a fly on the wall even if you are a third or fifth wheel, if you're invited go, you never know what door will open for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.