Motivation logo

A year for big dreams

Let your pen do the talking

By SharikaPublished 5 months ago 3 min read

“I’ve been writing stories and poems

for as long as I can remember

I was that kid in the corner

that people called a loner

Surrounded by books, notepads

and those funny see through pencils

Writing for me was a perfect piece of heaven”

My mind body screams at me to put my pen down,but I can’t,there’s such a need to quench this undying thirst to create and evolve. To discover the “what could be” parts of myself and leaving behind the “what was”. That is the most inspiring part of this challenge. It challenged me to reflect. To reflect on where I’ve been on this platform and where I’m going, like gym membership for mind, do I want to work it out?or do I want to stay stagnant?

It reminded that in my cacooned corner, writing is everything and I love how this platform creates challenges to help ignite that flame. It made it hard to make excuse and easy to submit. Easy to find inspiration, read different perspectives that captivate your mind.

I’ve been with vocal since 2022 and there are so many categories you can submit to. It’s like a writers all you can eat buffet and I’m not going to lie, I’ve been starving myself.

When I joined my efforts were lacklustre at best. It wasn’t that my stories weren’t good, it was that I let my fears of what others “might” think dilute the amount of pieces I submitted. So essentially,

“My goals were loose

I was chasing my dreams

Like a game of duck duck goose

Yet the funny part is

I was on vocal all the time

Just hiding in the background

Reading stories and poems that rhyme

This was the gentle push I needed

to spread my wings

I started off with baby steps

and I’m so happy I did”

My writing was something I held so dear to my heart. Before vocal I was desperately looking for something that could help my writing flourish in a safe space. A place where I could meet other writers with the same passion that I had. To share ideas with, learn from and receive constructive feedback.

So I did what any millenniums of today would do and I googled the ish out it.

“I googled publishers

and quickly became crossed eyed

I gave myself endless excuses

about how I didn’t have time

then made it a New Years Resolution

every year until my dreams

felt like they were aging like fine wine”

You see writing for me isn’t just something I do in my spare time. It’s so much more than that. It’s how I escape the boring mundane feeling of todays 9-5 work grind. The feeling I get from it is so euphoric , it’s like..

“that perfect cup of coffee on a rain day

or that warm blanket that’s barely hanging on

but you just can’t throw away

It’s that kiss of sun

on the first summer day

or that one song that when you hear it

makes the world just melts away

It’s all those things rolled together

to make my perfect plate of dreams

My goal this year

Is to be the best version of me

To be unapologetically myself

In all my essence

To share more of my stories

On a daily basis

To grow on this platform

And expand my mind

To leave a legacy

Because words transcend

beyond the sands of time

So from now on

You’ll read more from me

Hopefully to many

That’s a good thing

And to the ones reading this

For the first time

If your on the fence about joining vocal

Don’t make a mistake like mine

Jump in with both feet

The water is warm

And people are kind

It is a family of writers

The will help you tweak and refine

They will comment on your work

In the best way

And inspire you to write

more and more each day

With that said I will take a bow

Thank you for reading

I will let my pen rest now”

My goals for vocal in the long run is to hopefully become an investor someday. I would love to be apart of a platform that invests in people. I think it’s a beautiful thing. I would also like to do a collaborative pieces with those who subscribe to me. Let’s make some magic! 2024 is a year filled with reachable dreams!

goals

About the Creator

Sharika

I love writing, creating something out of nothing, the world is a canvas. Musically anything goes. I was the girl in high school in the corner with ear buds and notepad. Now I’m the women who dances to her own drum barefoot on shore.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SharikaWritten by Sharika

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.