Motivation logo

A Thankful Return, Self Esteem Boosting Intentions

And 5 things I've seen & heard this week

By ClarePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
A Thankful Return, Self Esteem Boosting Intentions
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

3 Things That I'm Thankful For On My Return From Holiday

It’s been a struggle this week.

Jet lag, trying to get back into a routine and the huge list of things I would “do when I am back from holiday” is now looming over me.

That’s why doing this weekly gratitude exercise is so important to me, as, despite all the things that haven’t gone as planned, which seem far easier to remember, many things went right this week.

Joining my first workshop

On Wednesday evening, I attended an online workshop with Writing Launch.

Jacob & Ian very kindly gave an hour of their time, free of charge, to go through how to pitch an article to a magazine.

Not only that, but they also offered a great package which includes a list of nearly 2000 publications to write for, mentoring and access to their entire catalogue of courses.

The cost is $47 per month (around £40) however, you get the first month for free and can cancel at any time. Of course, I snapped up the generous offer and plan to start earning money again as soon as possible.

Getting back into exercising

I wasted no time in getting back to using the FIIT app, completing a yoga and a much dreaded cardio session.

I’m planning to continue exercising every other day and make this a part of my morning routine. I would like to find a cardio session I enjoy though!

Reading

When I was away, I didn’t do nearly as much reading as I normally do on holiday.

I really did miss reading the articles on Medium as they get start my day off with some inspiration. It was so good to get back to reading what I had missed from my fellow writers.

Also, I finally started my book, The Last Law Of Attraction Book You’ll Ever Need To Read, which I took on holiday, but just didn’t have the time to sit down and give it the focus it deserved.

What went well for you this week? ❤️

A Horror Film, Heat Anxiety & A Digital Detox - 5 Things I've Seen & Heard This Week

I'm finally back in the good old UK. Sadly, not escaping the heat, but reunited with my little Tobes, who has barely left my side.

I’ve been catching up on emails and TV so I’ve got lots of good stuff for you this week!

If you're looking for a good horror film.

After a horrific journey home, and some bothersome jet lag, The husband and I managed to make time to watch a film and it was a horror. Yay!

I was surprisingly impressed with The Black Phone, which is about Finney & his sister Gwen, who live with their alcoholic father.

There is a "grabber" going around, abducting young boys, two of which Finney knows and it isn't long before Finney himself is taken and locked in a soundproof room with a bed and a disconnected black phone, that occasionally rings.....

It's got a great cast and I enjoyed the storyline, which gives us something a little different.

If you're wondering why you're anxiety is through the roof

Winter brings us snow & SAD, summer brings sun & anxiety.

Heat anxiety: hot weather really can make you more anxious - here's how to deal with it from Stylist magazine explains not only how this happens, but also how we can manage it.

I've bookmarked this article as the end of summer does not appear to be on the horizon.

If you need an excuse to take a break

Look no further, I'll be taking this great advice from Being Boss Club article, Why Taking A Mandatory Lazy Day Is Self Care

I think it's essential that we all take at least one complete day off each week. Follow their tips and you can't go wrong.

If you want to lower your phone usage

The Dopamine Detox Challenge may be the one for you.

This 14-day challenge will help you reduce the time you waste scrolling through your phone, giving you some of your precious time back to do more productive things.

If you want to go one step further

Read Technology Designed To Help Live Out Our Values from Happiful. The video gave me so much to think about.

Having an entire day from social media once a week is something I would love to do, I just need to figure out how to schedule certain things like links and question boxes!

If like me, you're not quite there yet

Take control with these tips from the Center For Humane Technology. Not only do they provide some really useful tips, but they also provide alternatives for us to use.

The helpful tools section is something I am certainly going to be using.

Song of the day - If you missed it, here's this week's playlist

3 Intentions I’m Setting This Week To Boost My Self Esteem

It’s a brand new week and I for one am looking forward to it.

I think I went a bit head first into last week and soon realised that I can’t do it all at once, so this week I intend to:

Complete 2 Writing Launch courses each day

After the workshop last week, I’ve already reached out with some questions and the response has been swift.

I’m excited to start working through the courses and learning new things.

Update my CV

Changing careers was always going to be difficult, but I hadn’t given a thought about trying to write a CV for a job I hadn’t done before.

I’m hopeful that the courses I’m doing will help me with this.

Practice manifestation techniques daily

The book I’m reading each morning on The Law of Attraction has some great techniques for manifesting so I’ll be doing these daily.

Law of Attraction always improves my mindset and helps me feel more positive about my day.

What are your intentions for this week? ♥️

self helpsuccess
Like

About the Creator

Clare

Personal growth, Self-Care, Motivation, Mindset.

I write about my life lessons to inspire.

You can reach me at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.