Motivation logo

a mind-map of a resolute connection to my diagnoses

wherein , my passion for art reigns , healthily , thankfully .

By GreedehausPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
an image that i began , & then , painted over .

i think that i never quite anticipated my life going one specific way , or the other .

i think i always knew there would be visual artistry involved , that typed .

i grew up in a fashion-forward household , & i spent time with extended family members who styled themselves for church services , that they led , & designed dresses for my school pictures , & costumes , as well . a great-aunt , in particular , had such a collection of high fashion magazines , that i inadvertently became a student of editorial design , which i found to be quite infinite , in potential , even as a youth .

in the way i dress , there has always been a flair for the somewhat dramatic , as a result , & i get to connect that with my history of painting , illustration , & sculpture , where i can customize , or alter . i was born in Clarendon , Jamaica , & i arrived in Canada , during 1990 , cold season , which has had a direct effect on the way i dress , the way i have dressed others , & the way that i style the characters in my fashion artistry . i add a bit of country , for the love of it . i am a student of fashion , in & out of the industry , however , my skill-sets in sewing & pattern-making seem to refuse to graduate , the way my creative skills have . sometimes , that is a bit embarrassing for myself to articulate , fully . perhaps , one day , i can build my weaknesses into portfolio work .

my incredible parents got myself my first easel when i was in elementary school , from the former Loomis & Toles , & i began to practice the hobby . at first , i mostly painted flowers . i later painted fruit , & vegetables , as well ; my lovely , supportive , mother would send out pictures of my finished pieces , & there are at least a couple , framed , & on display in the homes of family , & friends . i experimented with portraits , & i began to develop my skill-sets by rendering in the style of artists that i had a lot of fun researching & discovering , for example ; when my father would take us to the Art Gallery Of Ontario . toward the end of elementary school , i discovered the cataloguing of runway imagery , & i went to a cartooning club , with my brother . the two have really had an impact on my illustration style , as i began to sketch altered versions of famous designer collection pieces , as well as curated looks , in addition to illustration , after illustration , of original dresses , shirts , denims , & even footwear . i made friends with another student , in middle school ; they would colour the designs that i drew , or i would colour their designs . i was always mid-outfit .

we moved out to Ajax , the year i would have started the second grade of middle school , & the Durham Region educational structure titled myself via elementary , for one more year . there was , amazingly , a lot of creative projects , & i really felt comfortable expressing myself , with not just visual arts ; i joined the cast of the play , i sang with a friend in the talent show , & i made it into the honour choir . i played the trombone , i played in flag football games with the guys , & i played street hockey with friends in matching Adidas shell-toes .

once i started Catholic High School , things became a little more strict , for myself . my parents are educated , & ultra-hard-working , & they always have been ; i entered high school with the accolades that elementary afforded myself , including valedictorian , although , i definitely felt a pressure to accomplish more , in my own rights .

here we go , vocal . i have started to share my story , with yourselves . thank you , for the opportunity .

self help
Like

About the Creator

Greedehaus

i have sought out a platform like this one , for some time , now , in order to format my story in a way that is relatable . i do not quite yet know whom my audience is , however , i definitely wonder if what i write can influence . hey !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.