Motivation logo

A List of 101 Things to Love About Life

In a funk? Give yourself a lift with mood-boosting exercises like this one

By JoAnn RyanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
12
Photo by Spencer Gu on Unsplash

Remember that awesome old Louis Armstrong song: "What a Wonderful World."

"I see trees of green. Red roses too… I hear babies cry. I watch them grow…"

Life can just be plain freakin' hard sometimes. It can also be frustrating, confusing, exhausting and a lot of other things. When my mood drops, and I start to feel like complete sh*t, I take a deep breath of fresh air and turn right around and smack the blues upside the head with all the grit and aesthetic beauty I can muster.

This is my love list of things to help me change my state of mind for the better when I'm feeling not so cheery. It's all about snapping out of that crummy mood and getting to a better place psychologically.

Make up your own list and, if you'd like, add a few in the comments below.

Have a great day!

People & Animals

The most important part of our lives of course!

  1. Family and my significant other
  2. Friends (including internet friends!)
  3. Good friends
  4. Best friends
  5. Beautiful babies and children
  6. Cute cats, dogs and other pets
  7. Kittens, puppies and other baby animals
  8. Writers
  9. Explorers
  10. Inventors
  11. Musicians
  12. Artists
  13. Congregations
  14. Health care workers
  15. Strong and effective leaders
  16. Activists and advocates
  17. Horses
  18. Unicorns (even if they only exist in my mind, they're still cool)

Music

Life must have a soundtrack. I don't know what our world would be like without music, and I don't want to find out.

  1. Love songs
  2. Dance songs
  3. Hard rock and pop
  4. Disco
  5. Hair bands and glam bands (a special kind of love exists there)
  6. Jazz, classical and blues
  7. Big bands
  8. Guitars, pianos and other musical instruments
  9. Microphones and amplifiers
  10. YouTube and Pandora
  11. The Beatles, Electric Light Orchestra and Simon & Garfunkel
  12. Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin and Queen
  13. Lady Gaga, Madonna, Cindy Lauper and Whitney Houston
  14. Any Winehouse and Frank Sinatra
  15. Ray Charles and Boys II Men
Photo by Kevin Lanceplaine on Unsplash

A World Full of Color

I love living in a world full of color. How often do we ever stop and appreciate all the wonderful colors of life?

  1. Blue water
  2. Green grass
  3. Brown earth
  4. Black clothing
  5. White roses
  6. Fire red hibiscus
  7. Crazy-purple dyed hair
  8. Shiny silver cookware
  9. Wine-tinted lipstick
  10. Glitter nail polish
  11. Rainbows
  12. Multi-colored sunsets

Heavenly Tastes and Scents

Close your eyes and breathe in happiness. Taste the sensations of life.

  1. Coffee brewing
  2. Bread baking
  3. Veggies and herbs sautéing in the skillet
  4. Flowers in bloom
  5. Lotus incense sticks
  6. Lilac-scented candles
  7. Fresh air
  8. Clean laundry
  9. Hydrangea peony body mist
  10. Macadamia oil body wash
  11. Coconut shampoo
  12. Rose scented body bar
  13. Flowery scented hand soap
  14. Rise Beyoncé perfume
  15. Pine tree room deodorizer
  16. Daisy car air freshener
  17. The earth after a rainstorm
Photo by Colin Watts on Unsplash

Nature

Nature is the great healer and one of the best things to love about life!

  1. Water (by the way, have you ever considered how many names we have for bodies of water? Kinda crazy but cool: river, lake, stream, creek, brook, tributary, estuary, ocean, sea, gulf, cove, bay, inlet, canal, narrow, straight, channel, spring, aquifer, hydrosphere, wave, waterfall, cascade (this is not even an exhaustive list!)
  2. Mountains
  3. Beaches
  4. Flowers and plants
  5. Trees, especially shady trees and palm trees
  6. Rocks
  7. Chirping birds
  8. Falling leaves
  9. Meowing cats in the neighborhood

Fashion

Since I'm not a nudist, I appreciate clothing a whole lot. Not that there's anything wrong with nudism. I have nudist friends, it's just not my thing.

I'm also quite GLAD we don't live in times past when women wore terrible junk like petticoats, bonnets, girdles, panty hose, high heels, etc. Seriously happy about that!

  1. Comfy tennis shoes
  2. A good belt
  3. Cute sundresses in warm weather
  4. Soft pajamas
  5. Flip flops
  6. A great hat
  7. My favorite pair of jeans
  8. Thick, soft socks on cold days
  9. Go-to bras that are soft, durable and fit perfectly
  10. Shorts
  11. Tank tops and t-shirts

Misc.

And just a few other things...

  1. My bed
  2. My pillows
  3. My fridge
  4. Travel
  5. Reading glasses
  6. Cookies
  7. Modern medicine
  8. Air conditioning and fans
  9. My smart phone
  10. My smart TV
  11. All the lovely apps on my smart phone and TV
  12. Headphones
  13. Our family car
  14. Paved roads
  15. Fluffy towels
  16. Beach chairs
  17. YouTube and Facebook
  18. Writing platforms like Vocal, Medium and Newsbreak

Last, but of course not least, I do believe in a higher entity. Not sure exactly what that is... God, universe... whatever it is, I'm glad it's there! If you've been counting, all totaled up that makes 101. Whew!

I feel lots better now!

What do you love about life?

advicehappinesshealingself helpsuccess
12

About the Creator

JoAnn Ryan

Writer, photographer and all-around decent person. I write about travel, photography, the business of writing and a few other things. Also check me out on Medium @JoAnnRyan.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberry12 months ago

    What a wonderful and fun list! It's always important to focus on gratitude :)

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is a great idea! Thank you for sharing. :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous list!!! 💕

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Fantastic, outstanding, and wonderful. Thank you for this.

  • I absolutely loved your list! I would love to do my own list as well. Thank you for sharing this!

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    A great way to be uplifting and positively see the world around you! Thank you for sharing the list, the idea, and the love!

  • A fantastic list and a great idea and you have a new subscriber

  • Amy Hallabout a year ago

    Also, I needed this peice

  • Amy Hallabout a year ago

    I loved your use of lists and picture. Was an easy and amazing read. Thanks so much for sharing

  • BEER BRANDabout a year ago

    aii nice to read... tq best list out you..

  • This comment has been deleted

  • B.R. Shenoyabout a year ago

    We have so much to be thankful for!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.