Motivation logo

A Laugh is Just a That Lost Control!

momentstosip.etsy.com

By marie e ehlenbachPublished 9 days ago Updated 9 days ago 3 min read

Yes! Imagine if a simple breath test could detect breast cancer. It sounds like science fiction, right? But what if that breath test involved a super-sniffing dog instead of a fancy machine? Believe it or not, research suggests our canine companions might just be the cancer detectives of the future.

Back in 2006, a groundbreaking study put this idea to the test. Five ordinary dogs were given an extraordinary task.

To sniff out breast cancer in patients’ breath!

After just three short weeks of training, these pups proved themselves to be incredibly accurate detectors. They identified breast cancer with a whopping 99% accuracy! But that’s not all. Further research has shown that trained dogs can also pick up on signs of breast cancer in urine samples.

So, how are our furry friends managing this medical marvel? It all comes down to their incredible sense of smell. You see, when cancer grows, it releases specific volatile organic compounds (VOCs) into the bloodstream. These compounds are eventually exhaled or excreted, where a dog’s super-sensitive nose can pick them up.

While we’re a long way off from having cancer-sniffing dogs in every hospital just yet, the research is undoubtedly exciting. Who knows? Maybe one day, a trip to the doctor will involve a cuddle with a specially trained canine as much as a chat with a doctor. And if that sniffer dog gives you the paws up, you’ll know you’re in the clear!

Well, I was not in the clear!

I have breast cancer!

I have two appointments next week.

I have to have an MRI to find out what type of cancer it is.

And how many organs has it succumbed to, if any?

They found a second lump! But it came back benign.

The first one came back to stage 4.

I will be going on June 5th for my breast surgery! I have to go in to have my breast marked in the place where my surgeon has to cut into my breast. That is before the surgery! So I went in and had my breast marked for surgery. All seems well until…the surgeon attendant asks me what I had to eat this morning. I told her that I had a banana with a small cup of coffee. She told me she would have to talk to my surgeon about it. She came back and said it was a no go! My surgeon couldn´t do anything with a person who eats a banana! A banana! The sedative would not take! So, my surgery will wait until June 18! I will have to make myself wait until then. Such a long time! I vow I will not eat anything on the day of my surgery.

Today is June 6th, and that's all the information I have until June 18. Worry, worry, worry, wart!

Well, I got a call, from the hospital about my breast surgery. Today is June 13! It was a call from radiology. She wanted to know about my past. If any people from my past had breast cancer or any type of cancer. I was the only one who had breast cancer in my family! The only one! My Mom had series of lumps in both of her breast but none of them was cancer. She was very lucky! Both my Great Uncles had cancer, one had cancer in is jaw.( I don´t was it was called, bone cancer??) The other one had cancer in his back.(I don´t know what it was called either! Bone cancer?) They were brothers so I don´t if they had anything to do it with it! So it is only me!

Until June 18th, I will call if it has more info!

Thanks, Marie

Promotion with friends: a link!

medium.com/@mehlenbach8

momentstosip.etsy.com

healing

About the Creator

marie e ehlenbach

I started writing when I found my imagination needed a place to be! Yes, I will write about anything that comes to mind! Living near the National Park in Washington, DC. I find it is the place to go to let your imagination take over!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    marie e ehlenbachWritten by marie e ehlenbach

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.