Motivation logo

A Healthy You Resolution

How I've Kept With My Resolution - And How You Can Too

By Ellen HPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

It's the beginning of the year again and let's be honest, I've been putting off the "start working out more" resolution for months because, well, 'the new year will be a good time to start' thought always delays my start time. But it's January and I couldn't make that excuse anymore. If you are like me, you feel guilty for not starting earlier, and well, you almost feel like maybe you should just push it off for another year.

To say I'm disappointed with myself would be the understatement of the year. I am about 25 pounds heavier than what I would like and my lack of toning and muscle is disappointing. From a marathon runner three years ago, to someone that almost needs the cardiac team called when I climb a flight of stairs, is rather depressing. It should be the motivation I need to keep with an exercise program, but I tend to fall off the bandwagon between days 7 and 10.

Year after year, I start and quit and start and quit my 'New year, New me' resolutions. And year after year, I become more depressed and disappointed with myself because I feel I have let myself down. After 2020's more than disappointing results of none of my resolutions completed, I almost didn't make any for 2021, just to save myself the trouble. But, honestly, I couldn't. I decided I was going to make this year different, and I needed to commit to making myself stick with the program. Heck, at 29 years old, if I can't make the change before I turn 30, when will I ever?!

It's day 13 and I can say, I have stuck with my exercise and healthy eating program. This year, I promised myself I wasn't going to pay for any workout programs or healthy eating sites. I have wasted way more money that what I'm willing to admit on those. So, this year, I decided to just make slow changes instead of one big culture shock to my system. I increased my water intake and decreased the amount of food I was intaking daily. I downloaded a free workout app that gives ideas on daily workouts targeting areas you want to improve.

I found before I could never block out enough time for workouts. Yes, I know, I could sit on the couch for 30 minutes, but I just couldn't workout for 30 minutes straight - believe me, I am the queen of beating myself up for that. So, I made a change. I did small workouts, starting in the morning with five minutes. Then throughout the day if I had 5 to 10 minutes, I would do another workout until I had my 30 minute exercise goal completed. Some may say this is a terrible way to do it, but I'm here to say, yeah well, I'm still sticking with my program, are you?

My water intake was a challenge. I am probably the worst water drinker known to humankind. I often opted for sugary iced coffee and flavored drinks. People tell me that if I put ice and make the water super cold I'll drink it. Well, if that wasn't the falsest statement ever made. I can't stand cold water. I'd rather drink it lukewarm. Yes, call me crazy. But, I did figure out a way to drink more. I have my coffee thermos that I fill with water and every other time I fill it, I add flavoring. (Yes, that's probably cheating, but I have gotten myself to drink the plain water because I've tricked my brain. It knows I can't have the flavored water until I drink the plain.)

The other thing that really helped is a little less traditional - heck all of what I'm doing probably isn't traditional. Anyhow, I posted on social media that I was going to be working out and if anyone needed daily reminders to let me know and I would message them. I had four individuals jump on board. At day 7 when I was about ready to throw in the towel, one girl messaged me and told me how much the messages meant to her even though she hadn't been responding. She said it gave her the motivation because if I was doing it, so could she. That message made me power through and keep on working out and sending those daily reminders.

Resolutions are hard. I of all people know. But I want you to know that if I'm making this change, so can you! My ways are far from normal and I can't say they get proven results, other than I'm on day 13 when I normally quit at day 7. I've almost doubled my normal time frame, which sounds pathetic, but I'm ecstatic and that's what matters! Remember, you deal with yourself every day, why not root for yourself like you would do your best friends?

I wish you all the best in your resolutions. Don't be afraid to give me a shoutout. And I'll update again to let you know if I've stuck with this. I'm hoping I'll be able to say yes and that it inspires someone else to!

goals

About the Creator

Ellen H

Creating a wide variety of stories from personal experiences. I also have a fictional line of stories. Each story is thought out to ensure the best content and ease of readability for the reader.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ellen HWritten by Ellen H

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.