Motivation logo

A Day in the Life of a Small Town Girl

Never forget where you come from

By Brittany BrownPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
A Day in the Life of a Small Town Girl
Photo by Jesman fabio on Unsplash

Life in a small town isn’t easy. Everybody knows everybody; rumors spread like wildfire. Life can get so boring sometimes.

My normal day consists of homeschooling my two older children, whilst taking care of my other two smaller children, and performing my daily housewife duties. My day can get pretty tedious at times, but I manage.

All my life, I’ve yearned to make a name for myself; I don’t want to be just another forgotten body in the ground, engulfed beneath a tombstone that collects dust or lacks flowers throughout the changing seasons.

I have passions, don’t get me wrong- things that I enjoy doing in my spare time that get me by each day. However, recently, an inner passion awakened within me that I never knew existed-writing.

I had always been an excellent English and a literature student throughout my schooling years. It wasn’t until I began bearing children that I buried my talents to be a mother at a young age. Being a mother comes with its challenges, including putting your children first. And that’s exactly what I did for the past eleven years.

I don’t by any means regret having children or getting married, but as my children grew older, I decided that I needed to do something memorable for them. Time is of the essence, and no one can timestamp a date or time that they will leave this world. I wanted to ensure that before my time comes, I will have made some sort of positive impact on their lives.

So, over the past few weeks I’ve began writing. I never realized how easy it was to pour your heart and soul out into a piece of writing.

I got my inspiration from a novel I read months back, titled “After,” written by Anna Todd. Anna was merely an ordinary woman herself, and she gained tons of attention by writing her novel and its sequels.

You see, I’ve discovered that reading and writing can allow you to live a million lives, and can take you places you never dreamt you’d go. You can empthathize with characters and their stories and hope for happy endings, etc. It’s almost as if you live in an alternate universe when you read and write because the characters become close to your heart and can motivate you in so many ways. Or at least that’s how I feel.

This is why I became so intrigued with writing. My mind tends to wander in places unimaginable.

My husband a lot of times questions me on where my vivid imagination comes from. I’d like to believe that it comes from reading novel after novel and emphasizing with these fiction characters that the novels entail.

Living in a small town with next to any jobs, and being a stay at home mom to four wonderful kids and a loving husband has put me in a good place. It’s not so bad being a homemaker, now that I’ve discovered my passion for writing. I can now find the time to do something that I truly love, while impacting the lives of those who take the time to read my work.

Writing fills the empty void that once dwelled inside me before I realized that my life lacked passion for doing something other than being a mother and a wife.

I now can live a million lives, and share those lives with you all.

I am currently in the process of writing a novel, which I hope to finish up soon and get started on the publication process.

However, time gets cramped sometimes with four small kids and housewife duties. But I always try to make time for myself.

One day when I no longer live on this earth, I hope to leave my kids with the memory that their mom did great things. Or at least the memory that I tried. I yearn for them to have something to look up to, to ensure them that anything is possible if you follow your dreams.

I think one of the greatest things you can give a child is love, but purpose is definitely a plus. My purpose in live is to love and protect my children, and to share with the world to beauties of the mind. Oh, the places you can go with the power of your imagination...

I’d like to believe that even though I live in a small town, I can still make a name for myself one day through my writing. My support system is great, although there aren’t many occupants in my town.

I’d love nothing more than to get out of this town, but all in all, I will never forget my roots. I’d love to expand my knowledge to places afar, and impact the lives of many.

Everyone has to start somewhere in life in order to be successful, and I’d like to believe that I am starting here. Right now. And I won’t give up, despite the criticism that I receive along the way.

So, if you’re reading this, and are feeling inspired, never forget where you come from.

And always remember the places you can go...

goals
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Brown

I am a stay at home mom to four small kids, and I am happily married to my spouse of 14 years. I love to read and write. One day, I hope to become a well-known author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.