Motivation logo

A Battle for Faith — Astrology vs. Counseling

Faith and hope have an interdependency. One cannot exist without the other.

By tarun bhattPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
A Battle for Faith — Astrology vs. Counseling
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

If anxiety is among the worst pandemics, counseling is a possible vaccination. There is resistance, stigma, and insecurity around it, though.

I have been in a long-term relationship with anxiety. False accusations landed my family and me in an Indian court. Counseling, along with a spiritual lifestyle, ensured I maintained my sanity.

I have become a big fan of Astrology during my intimate relationship with anxiety. I don’t trust Astrologers all the time. It’s motivating to hear praises for my never dying resilient attitude, though.

I am at a critical juncture in my legal battle. Last week, I had a session with an astrologer. During the day, I journaled my emotions, and by the end, I could draw a parallel between the two techniques.

An Introduction

Counseling works on changing negative thinking patterns by identifying strengths and weaknesses. A counselor uses an evidence-based approach and works to alter negative thinking patterns.

The practice of Astrology is ancient. It does not have the backing of scientific research, though. Astrologers predict the future based on the positions and movements of celestial bodies. They use different methodologies to do so.

A session with an Astrologer

By Josh Rangel on Unsplash

I went to an Astrologer a few weeks back to inquire about my future. The astrologer was a 70-year-old dressed in a white kurta & pajamas. He gave me a 15-minute appointment for a consultation. Contrary to this, my therapist gives me an hour but charges me ten times the fees.

The astrologer assured me that my legal struggles were nearing the end. The tide is about to turn. The prediction coincided with the advice given by a Tarot card reader a few months back.

He also explained that my current life issues were due to my past karma. Why are we punished for karma from our previous life when we can’t enjoy the money earned from our past life?

My astrologer recommended a solution (Surya Arghya) backed by scientific research. He makes money by recommending stones & crystals to his clients. I was happy to hear about a cheaper and healthier option. The practice of Surya Arghya will lead to some healthy morning rituals.

Source of Anxiety

The root cause of anxiety is a lack of faith. Faith that humans can endure whatever the universe has to throw at us. Trust that the universe will shower us with a suitable outcome if we are ready to work with integrity.

When I enter a counselor clinic, I seek someone to instill this faith in me. I experienced the same emotion during the interaction with the astrologer.

My astrologer assured me many times that the end was near. He had no end date for my problems, but his mannerisms assured my self-conscious brain. In short, he was trying to instill faith in the process and succeeded in his attempt.

Conclusion

Hope starts in the dark. Faith and hope have an interdependency. One cannot exist without the other. Hope converts a victim into a warrior, and faith transforms a warrior into a champion.

My father does not believe in counseling but does not mind visiting Astrologers. His energy levels after seeing an Astrologer are the same as mine after visiting a counselor. After all, these techniques aim to increase our feel-good factor.

This article is not a debate about the legitimacy of any technique. It’s an insight into the human brain’s craving for hope. I assume I have done justice to this article, but I would love to hear constructive feedback.

Thanks & Regards

Tarun

successself helphealinghappiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.