Motivation logo

90 Seconds

When I stepped out of the cab this morning, I was feeling quite grumpy. The idea of spending a beautiful Saturday at work wasn't appealing to me at all. As I settled into my seat and rolled down the window, I decided to make the most of the morning drizzle.

By Smart MarketingPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
90 Seconds
Photo by Ev on Unsplash

When I stepped out of the cab this morning, I was feeling quite grumpy. The idea of spending a beautiful Saturday at work wasn't appealing to me at all. As I settled into my seat and rolled down the window, I decided to make the most of the morning drizzle. My mind wandered, imagining the coziness of snuggling up under my oversized comforter at home with the windows open. It seemed unfair to be out and about on a weekend morning.

As we reached the main road, I noticed that the streets were less crowded than usual for an early drizzly Saturday. The traffic light turned red, and my cab driver promptly picked up his phone to inform the office transport team that we were en route. A raincoat-clad traffic policeman muttered something under his breath. A vibrant transvestite, wearing a red sari and chocolate brown lipstick, went from vehicle to vehicle, clapping her hands and asking for alms. My attention was drawn to a young street child lurking on the sidewalk. She held a loop resembling a hula-hoop. As soon as all the vehicles came to a stop at the signal, she placed her loop on the pavement and stepped a few feet away. With a somersault, she landed gracefully inside the loop. Within the next few moments, she contorted her young body into various shapes within the loop, captivating everyone's attention. Despite the ongoing drizzle, she diligently performed, trying her best to entertain the stranded commuters. Then she glanced at the timer of the traffic signal, realizing she still had another minute. Quickly, she ran from one vehicle to another, collecting the coins offered by people.

By this time, the transvestite had completed her rounds and stood on the sidewalk, observing the child collecting her earnings. My driver grew impatient, the traffic policeman couldn't contain his muttering any longer, and he began cursing a biker attempting to jump the signal. All eyes were fixated on the timer:

- The driver wished it would tick faster.
- The transvestite hoped the vehicles would move slowly so that she could collect more from a fresh batch.
- The street child yearned for the signal to stay red a little longer, enabling her to collect coins from all the vehicles stranded there.
- The traffic policeman keenly monitored the timer, ensuring he signaled the right time to proceed.
- And I, unaffected by the changing traffic lights, immersed myself in the morning's beauty, observing the driver, the policeman, the transvestite, and the child as they contemplated their next moves based on the shifting signals.

Finally, the signal turned green, and the rain intensified from a drizzle to a downpour. The driver started the cab, the policeman blew his whistle and gestured with his hand, and the transvestite swiftly crossed to the other side of the road where the lights had now turned red. The little girl held onto her loop and ran towards the lane with the red light, a wide grin on her face as the raindrops fell against her nearly bare back.

As my cab moved forward, I glanced to my left for a final glimpse of the characters in my 90-second movie. The transvestite was clapping her hands once again. The child was preparing to do a cartwheel. The policeman was shouting at yet another reckless driver. And my driver was turning on the radio.

It was no longer a drizzle; it was a full-blown rain. The policeman sought shelter on his traffic island, the transvestite covered her head with her sari, and the child continued twisting herself inside the metal loop, rain pouring down on her bare back. Grinning from ear to ear.

My mind drifted again, this time thinking about my warm bed and cozy comforter. And suddenly, I felt blessed. Working on a Saturday didn't seem so bad anymore. The 90-second movie had done its job. I silently prayed and thanked Him for giving me a life that wasn't dependent on the changing lights of a traffic signal.

Life's lessons can come from the most unexpected places.

quotessuccessself helphappinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Smart Marketing

Explore digital world income opportunities

Check out my medium blog https://medium.com/@sunil3123gold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.