Motivation logo

7 French Fries

307 Pounds

By Julie HMPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I recently started Keto (haven’t we all). I know, I know. This isn’t super exciting. I’m just going to be real. I am a 307-pound, mommy of one, and this shit is hard. Today for example, my son has his best friend is over, and they wanted McDonalds. Me too. Don’t we all. It’s raining here, and they’ve been cooped up inside all day and McDonald’s has a PlayPlace. We get to McDonald’s and I’m sticking with the Keto so I order a Quarter Pounder, no buns, no condiments and order the kids their happy meals and some extra fries per their request. Let me tell you I.WANT. FRIES. Like, I really want fries, they aren’t in my mouth, but I can sure taste them.

This is where I feel like I win though, and like my last two weeks haven’t been wasted. I ate some fries, and let me tell you, after two weeks of being super good, these fries were glorious. I ate them one by one. I did not ever say to myself “I’m going to have a set amount”, I just ate what I wanted.

What I did do, was after every time I ate one, I counted it in my Keto app. This helped me keep track and helped me watch the carbs stack, and really think about and consider if eating another fry was worth it. I ate 7 fries, which was 12.2 carbs. WTF. 7 fries for 12.2 carbs! Hopefully, if you’re on this Keto Journey that seems as insane to you as it does to me.

What I learned from all of this was I can still have the fries, and satisfy my craving, without bingeing and without losing all of my progress. All it takes is the desire to stay the course, and the knowledge. The app I’m using is everything! Without that app, and the ability to track how many carbs I was consuming in real time, I likely would have eaten that entire medium fry myself. I would have told myself it was OK and that I could start over later. “Later” is such a dangerous term. Saying “later” or “tomorrow” trains your brain to think there is always more time, or that it’s okay to keep giving up.

I’m hoping you’ll be able to see a little bit of yourself in me. Like I said, I’m a 307-pound, single mom, with an amazing 8-year-old son. I work full time, and I commute pretty far every day. More often than not I feel stressed and pressed for time. I realized though, if I don’t do this now, when will I do it? I’ve started and stopped so many other diets. I’ve never fully committed to the goal. The most I’ve ever lasted on a diet is maybe two weeks. This time, I’m already on week 3! I wouldn’t have started writing these articles if I was not fully committed to the goal this time. I’ve got this, and I hope that you’ll enjoy reading about my journey and sharing in it with me.

I finally feel committed to fixing my weight and my health. I know that’s going to take a lot of time, and a lot of commitment, and I’ve seen so much success with Keto for others, and I’m praying that being strict with myself, I’ll be able to do it too! My promise to you, dear reader, is that I won’t ever lie to you. I’ll be real with you about my struggles, my “cheats”, my cravings, and all the tough stuff. I hope you’ll read with me! 307 pounds. My goal weight is 170. Let’s do this!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Julie HM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.