Motivation logo

5 Questions to Discover Who You Are and What Will Make You Happy

"It takes courage to grow up and become what you really are." ~ E.E. Cummings

By Bishnu BhandariPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

5 Questions to Discover Who You Are and What Will Make You Happy
Photo by Ball Park Brand on Unsplash

For twenty-five years I was happily married and had a good job, with many friends and a lot of money. At the same time, I became seriously depressed, underwent anxiety, and entered into a long-term relationship with a psychiatrist.

It was a real struggle for me to understand why I was so unhappy when I had everything I thought was important in life. Was I selfish? Was my expectations too high? I honestly did not understand what was missing and how to fill this void left by the daily grind.

Looking back on my life, twenty years later, I realize that I had no idea who I was and what made me happy. I've been waiting for something or someone to answer that question.

The journey to find out who I was and what was most important to me eventually included divorce, loss of my job and most of my possessions, and overcoming serious illness.

It took a loss for everything I thought it meant and made me happy to admit to myself that I really didn’t know myself at all.

Who am I? What do I believe? What is my purpose? What fills me with joy and wonder? These are the questions I begin to understand after forty-five years of my life, and I must admit that getting there has been very difficult.

The hardest part for me was just knowing where to start. After much healing, meditation, meditation, and study, I asked myself five great questions that served as an introductory pad to begin my self-discovery journey.

When you are ready to begin the process of truly understanding who you are meant to be, start here:

1. Who can you be if you know you will not fail?

The danger of failure terrifies many people. How often do you want to change jobs or careers, move to a new city, promote a career, or become an expert in a particular field? Think about it. There is no danger of failure.

If you were 100 percent sure that you could have or do whatever you wanted and did not succeed, do you know the answer?

2. What is your ninety-second cash statement?

Perhaps the most important and unanswered question in most job interviews, this is the same in nature. Sure you can include your work or accomplishments in your private conversation, but think about this with an idea of ​​how you might respond to this when you make a new friend or start a date with someone.

How would you describe yourself so that the person asking the question could really understand who you are and what is important to you?

3. What are your main personal values?

A person's values ​​are things that you believe are important in your life. They give you a glimpse of what is good, beneficial, important, useful, desirable, and upbuilding. Once you can determine what values ​​are most important to you, you can better determine your priorities.

In fact, having this information about yourself is the key to ensuring that your daily life conforms to those principles. If you need help explaining your own prices, there is a great five-minute testing tool here.

4. What do you enjoy most?

This is closely related to your personal standards. However, ask yourself this question when you have a clear idea of ​​what those principles are.

For example, if the family is one of your personal values, would taking a job that includes tons of travel be fun? Take a step forward and really reflect on the dreams you had when you were younger or now that you have them about what will really make you happy.

5. If money were not your thing, how would you live your life differently?

Most people measure happiness and success more directly than the amount of money they have. How many times have you heard someone say, "If I win the lottery, I'll…"

But remember, this question is not money at all. It is the unconscious thinking we often put into our desires and actions because things seem to be financially unattainable.

You may not be able to do those things right, but once you know what those real desires are, you expand your thinking and begin to build a plan of action to achieve goals that you never thought possible.

-

These are difficult questions and the answers may not come easily or quickly. In fact, I found myself having to reconsider and rethink my answers several times. This is a difficult task but it is necessary to truly understand yourself.

While I can't say that I now know all about myself, answering these questions has completely changed the negative internal dialogue that limits my ability to see myself as I am today and what I can become in the future.

But the biggest change came from reverting to the dreams and aspirations that I had long ago set while we were still holding on to the habit of "doing things."

My dreams of writing about things that are important to me, finding satisfying and interesting relationships, being very present with my children, and gaining supreme power are all coming true now that I am focused on my strengths in the right way - and that the direction was to look inside.

So, find a quiet place and give yourself plenty of time to look and really think about each question and then just find it. Go ahead. Start your journey. Change direction. Create new dreams or rediscover the dreams you left behind. Now that I’ve started, I’ve never looked back since.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.