Motivation logo

5 Proven Strategies to Stay Motivated When Facing Challenges: Lessons from Personal Experience

Lessons Learned from Personal Experience and Research-Based Approaches for Maintaining Motivation

By Umut ÇalışkanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Staying motivated is an essential aspect of achieving our goals and finding success in life. As someone who has struggled with motivation at times, I understand how difficult it can be to maintain focus and drive in the face of obstacles and setbacks. However, I have also learned that there are many strategies and techniques that can help us stay motivated and on track towards our goals.

One of the most important factors in staying motivated is having a clear and compelling vision of what we want to achieve. When we have a clear idea of what we want and why we want it, we are more likely to stay focused and committed, even when the going gets tough. It is important to take the time to really think about our goals and to articulate them clearly, so that we can keep them at the forefront of our minds as we work towards them.

For example, when I was working towards my degree, there were times when I felt overwhelmed by the coursework and the demands of my program. However, I was able to stay motivated by reminding myself of the reasons why I had chosen to pursue this degree in the first place. I wanted to improve my skills and knowledge in my field, and I knew that earning my degree would open up new opportunities for me in my career. Keeping this vision in mind helped me to stay focused and motivated, even during the most challenging moments.

nice photo

Another important aspect of staying motivated is setting specific and achievable goals. When we set goals that are clear, measurable, and realistic, we are more likely to feel a sense of progress and accomplishment as we work towards them. It is also helpful to break larger goals down into smaller, more manageable tasks, so that we can make progress step by step. A study published in the Journal of Applied Psychology found that individuals who set specific and challenging goals for themselves had higher levels of motivation and performance than those who set vague or easy goals (Locke & Latham, 2002). The study also found that feedback and support from others can further enhance motivation and performance.

For example, when I was working on a major project at my job, I found it helpful to break the project down into smaller tasks, such as conducting research, creating an outline, and drafting each section. By focusing on one task at a time, I was able to make steady progress towards my goal and stay motivated throughout the process.

In addition to having a clear vision and setting specific goals, it is also important to stay organized and focused. This means creating a plan or schedule for our work and sticking to it as much as possible. By prioritizing our tasks and staying on top of our deadlines, we can reduce stress and stay motivated even during busy or challenging times.

For me, staying organized and focused has been essential in managing my own freelance work. With multiple projects and deadlines to juggle, it can be easy to feel overwhelmed and lose motivation. However, by creating a schedule for my work and breaking down each project into specific tasks, I am able to stay on track and make steady progress towards my goals.

Finally, staying motivated often requires seeking out support and accountability from others. This might mean enlisting the help of a friend or mentor to keep us accountable, or joining a community of like-minded individuals who share our goals and can offer encouragement and support along the way.

Personally, I have found it helpful to join a writing group where I can share my work with others and receive feedback and encouragement. This has not only helped me to improve my writing skills, but has also provided a sense of community and support that has been invaluable in staying motivated.

successself helpgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Umut Çalışkan

Motivation stories sometimes tech related stuff

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.