Motivation logo

4 Easy Lifestyle Changes That Added More Writing Hours to My Day

It was hard to fit writing into my daily routine. But I did it by making these four changes.

By Kayla RachePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels

I’ve been trying to push my writing passion over the hobby line and into the realm of actual income for a while now. One of the biggest reasons I’ve thus far been unsuccessful is because I haven't made time for writing.

Obviously, this is a problem.

So, I took a harder look at my daily routine and what I spend my time on. Here are four ways I’ve been able to fit more writing hours into my schedule. They're not ground-breaking, but boy do they work.

1. Go to bed earlier, wake up earlier

It doesn’t have to be 5 a.m., but waking up earlier does allow for more writing hours.

I used to think that what time I woke up shouldn’t matter — who cares if I wake up at 9 a.m. or 6 a.m.? If I go to bed sixteen hours later that’s still the same number of hours in the day.

But it does make a difference.

Fortunately (or unfortunately for someone like me who enjoys sleeping in), the early morning hours are quieter. There’s less going on. No one is emailing and texting me yet, so it’s easier for me to focus and knock out a couple hundred words.

When I wake up earlier, my waking hours are more productive.

2. Avoid alcohol

I love my wine. Red wine, white wine, a good rosé… I like it all.

Unfortunately, drinking is probably my single most thieving habit in terms of what steals time away from my writing.

I wouldn’t consider myself an alcoholic or even someone with an alcohol dependence, but I am a millennial, and we generally enjoy our booze.

However, after I have that glass or two of wine, the potential for any remaining writing productivity in my day is lost.

And if I drink too much, well then most of the next day is gone, too.

I think of this as a trade. Sure, I can drink if I want. But those are active hours I’m taking away from my writing. And that’s kind of a crappy trade.

3. Limit chores to two times a day, max

I am a tidy-er. My parents instilled in me the importance of keeping an organized living space from a very young age.

If left to my own devices, I can easily get sidetracked doing the dishes, straightening up the living room, or making the bed multiple times a day. (Bed is one of my favorite places to watch TV, work, eat, etc.)

What might seem like quick, mini-chores can actually steal a lot of time if I keep doing them over and over again.

To prevent this from happening, I’ve found I have to ignore these chores for the majority of the day.

Instead, I allow myself one increment of cleaning/tidying in the morning and one before dinner in the evening. This keeps me happy with the state of my home without distracting me from my writing.

4. Use the extra time for writing

“Well, duh. Wasn’t that the point of this whole post?”

Yes, it was. And still, this needs to be said.

It doesn’t matter how much time I free up in my day. If I don’t use it for writing and don't make this a habit, then what have I actually gained?

It’s so easy for me to get distracted by my phone or random things I feel I should be doing throughout the day. Even when I purposefully make time for writing, that doesn’t guarantee that writing will be done.

I don’t just want to add hours to my day, I want to add writing hours to my day. This last tip is the most important in making sure that happens.

how to
1

About the Creator

Kayla Rache

Aspiring fiction and short story writer living in the D.C. Metro area. Also highly passionate about personal productivity and time management. Team Scully over Mulder. 👽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.