Motivation logo

30 Journal Entries to Self Discovery - Day 17

What do I want to accomplish right now?

By Michelle SchultzPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey everyone! Welcome to day 17! If it's your first time reading one of my posts, welcome and go back and read the other sixteen! Just kidding... no, I'm not. Anyway, welcome to day seventeen and I hope everyone is following along and writing along. Here is my positive writing quote for the day: "A professional writer is an amateur who didn't quit." - Richard Bach

DAY 17: WHAT DO I WANT TO ACCOMPLISH RIGHT NOW?

I want to write the first book of my book series. Right now. I want to write it all tonight and put it down in book form and have it be absolutely perfect the first time I write it but I want to edit it eight thousand times in one night and then I want to send it to every publisher in the world in the hopes that they don't think it sucks and they want to put it on bookshelves across the world. I know that's a lot. But I have been dreaming about this for as long as I can remember. Pretty sure I tried to write my first draft when I was still in diapers. It is my lifelong dream and it will not go away until I accomplish it.

I'm not crazy. I know writing doesn't happen like this. I have tried to write a thousand books and I have so many drafts that are basically shit, but practice makes perfect, right? Honestly, if I didn't have cloud storage I'm pretty sure my computer would've run out of room like four years ago with all the 'books' I've written. I'm still in the process of writing my outline for the one I'm currently working on for the nine hundredth time. I think I have finally come up with a series that people will actually want to read. I hope. I want to write it all down and get it out of my head right this second but I know if I do, it will be trash. I know the editing process takes like eighteen years. And in the words of one of my favorite authors of all time, Ernest Hemingway, "The first draft of anything is shit." I have experience with this and I totally agree. A lot of the stuff I write is shit. This is probably shit, but it's practice and writing everyday gives you a lot of practice. And a lot of drafts that I should probably burn.

However, that is my biggest want in the world. Aside from world peace and my daughter becoming president so I can do whatever I want and not get in trouble, and ya know, I'd be like super fucking proud of her too. Seriously though, my biggest want in the world is to write the first book of my series and just get it out there, even if my parents are the only ones who read it. Even if the next book takes me another twenty-five years to write. Getting the first book done and out there would pretty much be my greatest life accomplishment. If it's in writing and only for sale for a dollar on Amazon, I'll be happy. I'll be proud that I finally fucking did it. I make time to write every day, but I swear there needs to be more hours in the day. I don't have enough time. I want to get it all out RIGHT NOW! But that's my biggest want.

My thoughts: I loved this question. It really made me think about what I could accomplish if I could accomplish something right this second. I already knew what it was but I like that it made me look at it again. It's nice to remind yourself of your dream. Our dreams often get lost as we get wrapped up in our everyday lives. I don't want to lose my dream. I don't think I ever will, but it's nice to be reminded.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.