Motivation logo

3 Powerful Insights About Finding Yourself and Creating Change

“Get out of your head and come into your heart. Think a little, you feel better. ”~ Osho

By Ram PaudelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
3 Powerful Insights About Finding Yourself and Creating Change
Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

If you are in a state of spiritual need outside of the Bangkok riots, and you have a complete and complete meltdown about your ability to deal with your inner demons and the greatest fear of life, where should you look?

I feel very good about answering that question, since I was in that situation right now!

My destination was a small, peaceful Buddhist temple, and especially a gentle and old monk named Yut.

Don’t be fooled by the definition of “gentle and aged”, however, because Yut was also straightforward and unforgiving in the way he contradicted my views and answered questions from my own self, to me in awe.

Surprisingly he was humorous and low-key, which made for a fun game that changed in the afternoon which helped to disrupt my melting, which supported my deterioration into progress.

It was during my three-month Sabbath period in Thailand. Six weeks ago on the paradise island Koh Samui it was a pleasure to say a little, getting to Bangkok on the outskirts had shocked the program.

I had followed my gut feeling and was guided by God to be there, even though I was afraid of being alone in the big cities, especially where I didn't speak the language.

I was at a time in my life when I had to move things. I was on the brink of a major change, following my heart and leaving my ten years of working at home, where at the time I was the National Manager of a hiring company.

I had spent 32 years practicing my ability to be what I thought others wanted me to be— “successful.” The only problem is that my definition of success was distorted.

I thought that my success and fitness were measured by the amount of work, the luxury, the material things. This, in fact, was the nonsense I had created in my head - a story I had bought, fueled by my perfectionist addiction and a great need for security and reassurance.

I was ready to get out of the box I was staying in, and this trip helped me see the world, life, and myself in a new light.

It seems that as you move up in life inviting change, life has a way of leading you where you should be, who you should be with, and hearing what you need to feel.

It turns out that it fits very well and that my indifference to Bangkok led me to seek a peaceful place, which took me to this Buddhist temple where I received very little help and got three ideas to turn the game around by Yut.

This transformation of events can be another building block for one very important and transformative lesson: just be who you really are and that’s more than enough.

There was a postponement to be made! To be who I really am, I first had to learn who I really was…

1. Meditation is a tool for self-awareness.

“Meditation is a way to know who you really are. Everything you need to know is inside you, looking for you outside the world will only take you so far. You need to look inside. ”~ Yes

This dream of Thailand was the beginning of something about three years of daily meditation. Only 5−10 minutes a day, which connected me with my intuition and myself. Once I connected, I was able to live by that direction, using it as my first navigation tool.

2. Self-awareness opens the way to unlimited opportunities.

“The more enlightened we are, the more we know ourselves, in reality anything is possible. If you connect with the real person, then life is endless and anything you can think of can be your reality. ”~ Yes

I was so happy to hear this! I wrongly expected that a Buddhist monk would tell me all about the rejection of human desire and living a lonely and peaceful life.

I have had big, strong dreams for my life - running away from rats, being a writer and coach, and pursuing my love of healing power, maybe I am still on earth!

Feeling that meditation was the way to my true personality, and connecting with myself was the way to enlightenment, which also opened up endless opportunities for me, yes, I was ready to find my own meditation space!

3. Deal with your inner demons; it is your responsibility.

"Even though we are all connected, we have to face our challenges alone." ~ Yes

While I strongly believe that the networks of our family and friends who support us are successful in life, the fact is that when we talk about internal demons, fear, blocking, and reducing beliefs, we have to deal with those ourselves.

It is a personal journey to honestly look at the dark cracks within you and become the real owner of how you feel, how you behave, and see what is holding back your prosperity.

Taking responsibility for how we live and what we do is a matter of great courage.

I almost cried when I first arrived at the temple, I was afraid of my time alone in Bangkok and I was facing the big changes I needed to make in my life, the message to face my challenges alone gave me strength.

It woke me up and made me realize that no one else could free me from my limited beliefs about what convinced me as a person and the blocks I had by risking my safety by seeking a meaningful life.

I should have done this myself. I had to build a relationship with the truth and let him appear, as we are all called to do.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.