Motivation logo

3 Basic Ways to Protect Your Peace

by Mya

By MyaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Pinterest Image

Peace is a state of being. Peace is learned. Peace is a choice. Peace is essential to thrive. Peace is the absence of hostility.

As restless individuals, it is important to understand the power of Peace.

Your peace is very important. Peace with yourself is vital.

I was inspired to choose this topic because of a recent altercation I experienced. The biggest lesson I learned out of it was that my personal peace cost more than a friendship. People come and go in your lifetime. “When people show you who they are, believe them.” – Maya Angelou

Protect your peace at all cost, always trust and believe that better things are in store for you.

If you are constantly unhappy it is probably because you lack peace, or your peace is not being protected. People around you can easily drain you and make you angry. If you notice people disrupting your peace, it is vital that you take action to be away from these draining and toxic people. Protecting your peace is not something I can do for you; you have to do it for yourself and for the sake of your sanity.

Your peace can be disrupted in endless ways such as:

1) People using you.

2) People not appreciating you.

3) Being unhappy in your workplace.

4) Toxic relationships & Wasted time

5) Etc…

Protecting your peace starts out with you. You dictate what YOU will tolerate. Enough is enough. Do not let anybody manipulate your feelings.

Protecting my peace has been something I definitely learned since being in college. I have had two roommates who I have had to move away from due to us not getting along very well.

I demand respect, as every human should have the confidence to do. Constantly letting people treat you any type of way and hoping that they would change for the better is something that they have to figure out once YOU are out of the picture.

I used to always blame myself for not getting along with people. I used to sometimes think that something was wrong with me. I am not anybody’s punching bag, and I refuse to feel that way.

People really realize your worth once you are out of the picture. The same goes with toxic relationships. You can make protecting your Peace as complex or basic as you want. At the end of the day, it is YOUR peace, and it should not be taken away from you. I encourage you to reclaim and take back your own peace with these three basic ways.

#1 Set Boundaries

Setting boundaries is another way of saying “No.” In order to protect your peace, you must for and foremost set boundaries and make sure that those boundaries that you set are being respected. No, is No, is No. If you do not set any sort of boundaries for yourself, your peace will not be protected. Think of your peace as a prize, you do not want anyone to easily disrupt or have access to it.

#2 Be Firm on Your Decisions

Once your boundaries are set and clarified, be firm on what you set for yourself. Do not contemplate or go back and forth on what you will and will not allow. Be firm and true to the decision you make for yourself and trust and believe it is the best thing you can possibly do to protect your peace. Going back in forth creates a toxic and never-ending cycle of destruction. You know better. Be firm on your decisions and stick to it. It may hurt emotionally now but the pain is temporary, sweetheart.

#3 Meditate and Reflect

I personally like to write in my journal and dance as form of meditation. Meditation is different for everybody. I know you might be thinking of someone sitting done crisscross style with their eyes closed. You can go on YouTube and search for a “guided meditation.” You can also use apps such as Headspace, Calm, and Meditation. I recommend that you take some time every day to just breathe and really tend to your thoughts and emotions. Tending to how you feel is way to protecting your peace. When you become aware and mindful of how you truly feel, situations do not phase you the same way. Protecting your peace is getting to the root cause of what it is that needs protection the most.

I hope you enjoyed reading my 3 Basic Ways to Protect Your Peace. I hope that this helped and inspired someone out there to protect their own peace. Always demand that your peace be respected, or you will regret every chance you let someone disturb it.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Mya

My name is Mya. I am a college student and fitness trainer. I am an Aries. I love to write. Thank you for checking out my post !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.