Motivation logo

#200

Welcome to where I dump out all my brain garbage

By Jen PhillipsPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
#200
Photo by Kharl Anthony Paica on Unsplash

It’s finally the New Year, which means it's new me right? Every year I have new goals and aspirations for the next 12 months- 1 year. Every year 70 % of what I have planned for myself never gets accomplished. Why? I couldn't tell you. The goals I've made aren't necessarily unrealistic but I fail to come up with a realistic plan to accomplish the goal or something comes up where I have a setback. Just excuses for why I'm not where I want to be in life. I feel like this is my year.

In the month of November, I've written the most I've ever written in my time on Vocal. I also earned top story of the month. I've grown so much as a writer over the years on vocal but 2023 had me writing in categories I could never think of writing in. Last year I think was also think year I entered the most challenges than any other year. In doing this it helped me be more confident in myself and in my writing.

With that said one of my goals for Vocal is to continue writing top story-of-the-month-worthy stories. Also, continue to expand into different genres and challenges. Since I was little I've always wanted to be an artist, a writer when I grew up but life got in the way and in my early to mid-twenties that wasn't really possible but now in my 30s I don't really have an excuse to not put in the effort. I enjoyed the attention I received when I shared my stories on vocal and the fact that people commented asking for part twos to stories is even better.

Vocal is always improving as it grows and creating new challenges and genres as it goes. It would be interesting to be able to write something for each category of challenges and genres. I love the idea of expanding outside of my comfort zone.

One of my personal goals for this year is to be able to write three times a week. Every opportunity I get, I write and hours go by before I realize I spent most of my afternoon writing. I find writing to be therapeutic in away. It's basically a chance to dump all the trash out of my mind. The more I write the better I feel. Again with all the challenges Vocal puts out a month that should be very easy to accomplish.

One of my favourite things on Vocal is being able to subscribe to other people's profiles and be able to get a notification when they upload something new. At the same time like and comment on their story. I enjoy reading other people's stories and look forward to what they have written next because being able to read someone else’s brain trash is inspirational and helps motivate me to write more.

Another thing I'm looking forward for- if it isn't obvious already- is seeing what new challenges Vocal will have for us this year. Each year challenges keep getting better and fun to do. Challenges have helped me shape my creative journey in so many ways, especially by stepping out of my comfort zone and writing in categories I never thought I would write in. Also, seeing genres I normally would write in from a different perspective. So, it's like a whole new approach to writing in general.

Besides challenges, I'm excited to write part two of a lot of stories I've started in the last year and see where those storylines go from there. The more I write the more excited I get to see what's in stalk on Vocal.

goals

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    A lot to achieve, and I applaud you for sharing this!

Jen PhillipsWritten by Jen Phillips

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.