Motivation logo

10 Steps to Remind Yourself It's Just a Bad Day

It's not a bad life.

By Hannah York Published 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

We've all been there. You wake up and can just tell, "Today is NOT going to be my day." As the day goes on, you're constantly reminded of that idea you had as soon as you woke up, and it just seems like nothing else can go wrong. Finally, you get home, and you rehash the details of your day. This is when it becomes important to remember one very important fact: It was just a bad day, not a bad life.

1. Talk to a friend.

Never be afraid to reach out to someone you trust if you are having a bad day. This could be your parents, a sibling, a friend, literally anyone. The person you reach out to can even be different depending on the situation that is getting you down. When classes are stressing me out, I talk to my advisor. She has always been amazing as reminding me that I am doing my best, and my best is more than enough. If I'm getting emotional, my best friends or my sisters are really good at distracting me, or listening and offering a solution.

2. Write!

When I'm having a particularly bad day, I write. Whether in a notebook, or just a random blog post that no one will read, getting my feelings written out to read really help me realize that a lot of the things stressing me out are just temporary.

3. Do something fun.

Go out and do something that you enjoy! If it's something you enjoy, chances are, it's going to brighten up your mood and remind you that you have so much to be happy about. For me, it's hanging out with horses. If I'm having a really bad day, I drive to my barn and just sit with the horses I'm closest with, and they seem to know if I'm having a bad day. For some people, going outside helps, because it reminds them of how big the world really is, and one bad day isn't going to stop them from experiencing all the amazing things out there.

4. Take a nap.

Honestly, sometimes taking a little bit of melatonin and going to sleep helps take my mind off of what is stressing me out. It gives me the chance to sleep the bad day away and wake up in a completely new mindset. If I had a particularly bad day the day before, I make sure the first thing I say to myself when I get up is "today is going to be a great day!" You'd be surprised how much waking up in that mindset can change the entire outcome of the day ahead of you.

5. Make a list.

One of my favorite things to do is make a list of the things I love about myself. I try to list 10 things I love about myself, and then 1 things I want to change about myself. It gives me a goal and at the same time, reminds me of some of the amazing qualities I possess. It's hard at first, but it gets easier as you start to think of some of the unique qualities that make you an amazing person. It can be something as small as "I like the outfit I put together this morning," or a personality trait that you have always appreciated about yourself.

6. Look at pictures.

Looking back at memories that made you happy helps lift your mood so much! It reminds you that you were happy one day, and you can be happy again. A lot of times those memories are with friends, too, so it helps remind you that you always have people in your corner.

7. Dance!

This one seems really silly, but dancing can help get out any sort of emotions. Stress and sadness can be expressed so easily in dance, so even if it's just a dance party in your bedroom with only your reflection watching, it is such a good way to get out of how you are feeling, and it's a good work out on top of it! Put on your favorite music and just project how you are feeling into dancing. Eventually, you will start to notice that your dancing is lighter and just looks happier, and your mood will follow suit!

8. Take a bath.

Get your favorite bath salts or bubble bath and take a long, warm bath. If it was an extra long, stressful day, grab a glass of wine and just soak in the tub. As cheesy as this sounds, the steam and water will help cleanse your body and mind from all the stress and bad things that happened during the day.

9. Read a book.

Books are a really good way to engulf yourself into a new world and forget about everything that is happening in your world. If you're anything like me, I even picture myself as a character in the book that I can relate to, and I start to imagine that I'm living in the story. It helps put me into a new mindset and go on my own little adventure in my head. It also helps distract me from the things that are making me feel bad, and if I read enough or get engulfed into the book enough, I don't even remember what was bothering me by the time I'm done reading.

10. Go on a drive.

Driving clears my head a lot when I have a lot of my mind. I like the play the coin toss game, where I turn right if I toss heads, or left if I toss tails. Not only does it make me focus more on where I'm going than what I have going on, but it also sometimes will introduce me to hidden treasures nearby. If I find somewhere I want to check out, then I try to plan to go there the next time I'm having a bad or stressful day.

Bad days happen to everyone. Emotions or stress get the best of you, and it can be hard to find a way out of that head space. Remember these tips and tricks, and always remind yourself, it's just a bad day, not a bad life.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Hannah York

On 06/14/2016, my cousin committed suicide, and there were a lot of unanswered questions. After that, I decided that I didn't want to leave anything unanswered, so this page is a place for me to write anything and everything on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.