Motivation logo

10 Powerful Life Lessons

Steps to a Happier Life

By Laura TranPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I used to think that roadblocks, delays or procrastination were forms of failure. I thought that they were things holding us back from success. Today I sit and I ponder the idea that maybe all of those things get in our way to help us be more prepared for when the opportunity strikes.

Take dating for example. I haven’t ever met anyone that doesn’t have a story of heartbreak. Heartbreaks are necessary for our growth, an opportunity to learn more about ourselves and about what we not only want in our lives (and relationships) but also what we need. I believe that applies in several other areas of our lives as well. The failed business or career dreams that pushed us to learn new skills and new ways to prevail. I’m not the same girl I was twenty years ago, ten years ago, or even a year ago. I’ve evolved with every experience and it’s a beautiful and powerful process and I owe that to the challenges, the delays and the procrastination that gave me the time to absorb the things I needed to become this person.

1. Learn to love yourself. – Learn to love yourself fully, unconditionally and fiercely. I know I preach this all of the time but this was one of my greatest lessons. Love yourself the way you love others. You deserve as much love yourself as you give out to others. This doesn’t mean I don’t get disappointed with myself, it doesn’t mean that I think of myself higher than anyone else either. It means that I have to see myself in the perspective that I look at others in. It means that I have to see the good in myself everyday, it means that I have to be accepting of who I am and also take responsibility for the things I want to change and how I want to grow. It means I have to make it a priority to take care of myself – body, soul, mind and heart.

2. Learn to forgive. – Forgive everything, everyone, every situation. Spite and anger will eat you from the inside out. We’ve all been hurt, we’ve all dated the jerk, we’ve all been slighted or been cut in front of in line, life just sucks sometimes. Sometimes it just has to come down to spitting out the famous phrase, “shit happens” and moving on.

3. Be patient. – I suck at patience. I want instant gratification just as bad as the rest of you do. I want to awake in the morning and have an empire sitting in front of me. I want the paint on my canvas to dry immediately…but time is something we need to discover possibilities. Time is space, space allows things to grow. Be patient and allow the process to roll out.

4. Accept that anger is okay sometimes. – Anger can be a motivator – if and only if you learn how to process it effectively and thoroughly. Anger is not a true emotion, it is a reaction to other emotions. You become angry because you are hurt, or scared, or disappointed or whatever. Expose the true root of the anger. Use this to motivate you to make positive changes.

5. Take responsibility for yourself, not everyone else. – You are responsible for what you do and for how you feel. You want to be happier? Stop blaming it on circumstances in your life…either choose a new perspective or change the circumstances.

6. Don’t accept the mundane. – Do something you love everyday. Add your twist on everything. Make every moment magical. Love glitter? Carry the damn glitter notebook. Live your life full of color. Shake it off and laugh often.

7. Make time to be lazy sometimes. – I am actually one of those weirdos that likes to stay busy. I don’t know what to do with myself when I don’t have a notebook full of to-do tasks and at least ten projects in motion, but you’ll burn out. I know this from experience (lots of experience) and yes I still struggle with this one but I’m getting better, Netflix helps…

8. Stand up for yourself. – In all places (respectfully of course) but in all areas of your life. Speak your mind.

9. Never stop learning. – I believe that we are meant to explore, experience and absorb as much information and wisdom as we can in our lives. Life is supposed to flow, we are not meant to be stagnant.

10. Take risks. – Make a bucket list. Don’t let fear hold you back from goals, dreams, or telling someone how you feel.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Laura Tran

Just a gal sharing her stories of living her life with autoimmune disease, realist positivity, PTSD, artist, and other things with a crumb of cynicism & a sprinkle of sarcasm.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.