Motivation logo

1,2,3,Go...

musical influence on my mind, body and soul.

By Author shall remain namelessPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
1,2,3,Go...
Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

Water, Breath, Food, Shelter, Love and Music; as far as I am concerned no human can thrive without these basic necessities. Each serves its own very important function in humanity and society and its deplorable that not everyone has access to all of these without cost. Music is why I am here today. I am a recovering alcoholic who recently found out the best way to heal is to actually ALLOW my emotions to do their job, notify me something doesn't sit right within. Intuition, gut-feelings, heebie-jeebies, getting a "notion" its been called many things but it's your internal GPS for all things YOU.

If you are a healthy, emotionally stable and regulated person then please introduce me to your parents I have questions. Most everyone I have met as an adult is harboring some unwanted trauma from childhood and hardly even aware of it. No shame in that, it is simply a result of people breeding without healing. Yes, breeding. If you're an emotionally compromised individual and couple with another of the same composition how could you honestly expect to raise a healthy mind child that practices self-love, boundary setting/holding, acceptance and tolerance with everyone they meet? Exactly, so I call it breeding.

Now healing is a life long process but does it have to be? No, this is why breaking cycles and taking accountability for one's actions is so crucially important right now. If we start raising children that can be loving and happy adults then I believe we can have heaven on Earth, until then I have music. If you're anything like me you have a playlist for any and every mood. Mine goes all over the world, through time and space. Give me a feeling and I have a song for it with accompanying lyrics that verbalize the sentiment to a "T".

Music crosses language through vibrations, beats, tempo and melody. Lyrics can make or break a great compilation of notes, my respect to those who create genius content that rides the tune like a dolphin in the waves. Do you get the chills when you hear certain songs? What about when someone covers Whitney Houston covering Dolly? I never knew other people felt this too but it was my special way of telling this song spoke to my soul. My body reacted with goosebumps to signify I should listen intently to the message being sung into the void of consciousness, for it would serve a purpose in the future when I experienced that emotion again.

As I type I cry, yet every 3-4 minutes its a new emotional roller coaster I am thrown on and love each second. ("Don't say nuthin" -the Roots)When you really listen you hear the hidden meaning just for you, the universe converses through verses laid down to something you can bop your head to. It's a whole mood change, new persona hidden in the shadows emerges surprising even me, but that's just the power of vibrational patterns creatively arranged. We are electro-magnetic beings, waves of light and vibrations disguised as people, connected through energy and consciousness, but I digress. Back to Rihanna, "You needed Me" is the current state of affairs, I am not in a good place with my boyfriend and I am ok with however it ends up. The music will always be there for me, it understands me, sees my pain and sings along. I sit in the dark and I am not alone, somewhere a violin sheds tears in solidarity.

My heart hurts, my body is drained and my soul deserves better. It is up to me to change the song and change the situation or at least my emotional response to it. I can only control myself and even when my feelings are out of control I know there is a song that holds the promise of comfort and gentle relief. (Losing My Religion- R.E.M.) I've said too much, I haven't said enough. Story of my life. I think I thought saw you try.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Author shall remain nameless

These words are meant to be read by anyone & everyone. I am writing for my own sanity, I am relinquishing years of guilt and shame that was uncalled for and undeserved. I am writing to free my soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.