Marriage logo

The Perfect Day

A Walk with My Love

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The Perfect Day
Photo by Catalin Paterau on Unsplash

It was the brink of the eve near a wonderful beach of Porto Katsiki. Captive to the moment, our eyes were locked on the moon as it made an opening presentation while the sun retreated and laid rest for the evening. She gave me a look, as if her eyes could talk, taking her last sip of mature tea. Smiled, and said, "baby, please take a short walk with me!"

Held hostage to the beach side, I had no reasonable choice in the matter! Her eyes gave slight surprise as if I hesitated to her request. Truth be told, I was locked on her beauty and the connection to my brain and mouth was a complete mess. She took her opposite hand and gently slid it across my face. She loudly uttered a thought and her emotion said that she will never forget this place.

By that time, reality resurfaced and with a smiling voice she said, "Are you ready?" I took her hand and started to tell this story. She said, "Baby please not tonight, let's us just walk the night away!"

The new day came, and we somehow made transition to a small breakfast spot, secluded in the curve on the hill. The smell of oven roasted breakfast potatoes opened my nose as the calm waves splashed just below the base of the rock formation.

She thanked me for the soft pale pink dress that I purchased on a hot summer's June 4th day years ago and I wondered why! I thought to myself, why would she bring up that dress of all the others? Then it hit me and suddenly, as the music started to play on open front of a reserved beach side cafe, she told me this was a very special day!

Her eyes continued to focus on my features as we enjoyed breakfast and with my heart slowly racing, calm thoughts flowed and there were no other wishes of being in another place and time. Her smile between bites gave me satisfaction that the most charming woman on the planet, care to spend time with me. At this time, I was confused of the music playing and could not tell if it was in my head or the soft band started hours before scheduled. I continued to get lost in her eyes and wonder how such a woman has come into my life. She spoke to me as the birds sung in the morning. If I didn't know better, I think she could calm a storm and give gravity to any floating object.

I knew at this moment, that God gave me a true prize and my strength came from her smile. My encouragement came from the words she spoke into my ears. Then, the server appeared "Would that be all, Sir?" as reality started to sink back in. We then made our way back the seldom beating path to our room to exchange for the day's events. She said, "What shall we do, Love? We have the entire day ahead of us!" As the day had no play, just as I liked, I took her hand and started down without an answer. She started to repeat the question and I gently placed my index finger over her soft perfectly shaped lips and said, " My Love, we did exactly what we did yesterday!" She mentioned with a concerned thoughtful question, "Why don't you want to experience something new?" I calmly answered "Each day with you is something new and no matter how many times we do the same thing on different days, it will always be new with you, My Love! This is the perfect day!

travel
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.