Marriage logo

Paradise Wedding

By: Jess A. Fox

By Jessica A. FoxPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

____________________________________________________

Hi,

my name is Jonicia and I am writing this letter to let you know how amazing your resort has been and equally the story of my now one-year relationship and engagement. The reason I am sharing is that we would love to plan our marriage in the location we had met. I came to your resort summer of 1999, and I rate it five stars.

The story begins at the airport when my first flight landed. I was in such a rush to catch the next plane in the process I ended up dropping my suitcase that opened. A kind gentleman approached and helped me refill it and even saw me off to the gate as we were catching the same flight. When we landed at the airport, we said our goodbyes and headed our way.

Now before I enter the details of how we meet once more I want to say he is not my fiancé but the stories are tangible. When I arrived at your resort I was greeted by your amazing staff and brought straight to the penthouse upon check-in. As soon as I unpacked, I made my way to the ocean. I began walking the shore and within a few minutes, I saw someone that resembled the gentlemen in the airport. I approached him and said, “what are the chances we’re staying at the same resort.” The man in front of me looked confused and replied “sorry?” In fright I responded, “sorry to disturb you, I was the lady you helped in the airport, I thought I’d come and say hi.” He then frown while smiling and told me I got the wrong person but he would love to have drinks with me later. We exchanged numbers and that’s how I meet my fiancé. We spent the entire night at your bar and had a great conversation that ended in a second date being planned. It turned out that much of our trip involved the same activities we, therefore, spent the time together as I traveled alone for work purposes. Sadly, the activities and reservation has come to an end for me, but he didn’t waste time and asked if the friendship could continue outside the resort. When exchanging our information it turns out he lived ten blocks away from my home. He called me on the second day of my arrival home and we began our relationship the same day he returned home. Now you must be thinking why did you mention the airport event? Well, that turned out to be his twin brother who lived close to your resort and was slowly moving back home next to his brother. He built the resort with his construction company and that’s why he moved. My fiancé and I feel we’re destined; your resort shares our first memories together and your resort was built by the brother John I confused my fiancé for being.

The wedding will be held on August 1st of 2002, for a weekend. I look forward to hearing from you and your team. I can be contacted at 000-787-7777 or [email protected]

Sincerely, Jonicia Johnson ____________________________________________________

Two weeks after the letter was sent Jonicia received a call accepting for her to use their resort for marriage and they even added she could pay the base price for any hall she desired because her fiancé's brother was seen as family. This wedding according to Jonicia needed to impress her mother-in-law as her fiancé Johnny is the only son to be dating outside of his culture. Johnny believes his mother will adore Jonicia however Jonicia felt the pressure to prove she was worthy of her son seeing he would be the first to break the generational rules placed forward by his great-grandmother and father before passing. The couple planned the wedding and sent all the invitations.

On the wedding day, Jonicia finally meets Johnny’s mom who lives in her birth country. In the beginning, the mother wasn’t impressed but did not share those details with Jonicia but rather her son Johnny. Johnny explained she will adore Jonicia. Later that day the entire family had dinner together and Jonicia’s mother instantly became best friends with Johnny’s mother. The fathers were equally getting along. The four spent the entire night laughing and it ended with both Jonicia and Johnny receiving a blessing from their parents. On the wedding day Jonicia and Johnny did something outside the norms of an atypical wedding; instead of flowers papers were placed on the ground by the rushing flower girls and John picked them up one by one and laid down flowers. Once he got to the alter he said “For those currently confused, please watch the big screen. On the big screen was a story of Jonny and Jonicia meeting. At the end of the video, the music began to play and Jonicia made her way down the alley. Once the I do’s were shared a bunch of papers came flying down on Johnny and Jonicia and John laughing began to rush again to pick up the papers. Jonicia laughs and makes her way down the alley with Johnny where two large doors close behind them.

A few months later, Johnny and Jonicia who moved in together received a certificate by mail for the most beautiful and romantic event of the year and thanked them for their stay and wished them many blessings in the years to come.

THE END

ceremony and receptionwedding invitationstravelproposal
Like

About the Creator

Jessica A. Fox

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Such a beautiful and heartwarming story! I love the touch of having the letter written to resort as your opening scene. Smart move and well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.