Longevity logo

Why I Switched My Workout Routine

Why Swimming Is a Good Workout

By Kevin GardnerPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Often, every day feels like the same thing over and over again. There’s rarely any difference and rarely any change. That is one of the things that making working out so hard as well. I want to feel like there is variety in the things that I can control in life, especially when it comes to my workout. So, I switched things up, and the results have been fantastic. Rather than going every single day to the gym, I’ve started going to the pool instead. There are so many different workouts that you can do in a pool (and you get a great tan as well). Here’s what I did to change my workout routine and find something that works perfectly with my lifestyle.

1. Reevaluate Your Workouts

The first thing that I did was take a long look at the way I work out. Often, I hit the gym, lift a few weights, get tired and go home. There’s not a whole lot of variety. This made me realize that I needed to change something and find a better way to fit exercise into my life. I needed something that made me excited to go out and do it. At first, I wasn’t sure if I needed new music, a new gym, or new shoes. But, eventually, I figured it out. I just need a 180-degree change with working out. That’s when I stumbled upon the benefits of swimming. Swimming gives you a perfect full-body tone. It works your abs, arms, legs, back, and everything in between. You can also swim for cardio or for strength. There are also different types of workouts that you can try to find which one fits best with your preferences. The best part is that there are so many different exercises that you can do that you will never feel like you’re stuck in the routine again.

2. Find the Perfect Swimming Exercise

Swimming does so many things for your body. It keeps your heart rate up for cardio but takes some of the impact stress off your body. It also builds endurance, muscle strength, and cardiovascular fitness and helps maintain a healthy weight. When I learned about the amazing benefits of swimming, I contacted a contractor to help me learn more about custom pool in Charleston and then ran with it. I found hundreds of different exercises that I can do it the pool. Some mornings, simple lap swimming works best in my schedule. That means that I just hop in the pool, and swim. I alternate between freestyle, breaststroke, and backstroke for about an hour. Then, I hop out, and my entire body feels fatigued and great. I also tried weight lifting in the pool which was a great way to switch up the feeling of lap swimming every day. The water provides extra resistance and a cushion for your muscles and joints as well. It’s hard to drop a weight on your toes in the water.You can look up different exercises to do in the pool to find something that works best for you.

3. Don’t Feel Ashamed to Go Back to the Gym

The thing about working out is that you don’t have to do one thing 100% of the time. You can switch it up as often as you would like. You might want to try swimming for a week and then go to the gym for the next week. Or, you could try swimming on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and go to the gym the other days of the week. There’s no right or wrong way to work out as long as you’re getting your heart pumping and you’re honestly enjoying yourself.

The most important thing to do is to make sure that you’re actually enjoying the exercise that you chose to do. If swimming isn’t your thing, that’s fine. You can try yoga and pilates, running, and so many other things that will tone your body and help you to feel the best that you can be.

athletics
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.