Longevity logo

Why Does Salt Help Ease Anxiety?

Seeking alternative methods to help you is innovative.

By Susie PinonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Life is always changing and transitioning. Some chapters are longer and harder to read than others. Through the ebbs and flows, we may face emotional roller coasters jam-packed with unintentional growth, pain, perseverance, and character development. I've been battling anxiety for as long as I can remember. Some days I am blessed with a calm mind. On others, my fingers rattle as I lick my lips and try to battle through the mental chaos.

Just recently, I decided to quit my anxiety-ridden job and start to wean myself off of prescription antidepressants after eight years. As I implement alternative mental regulation tactics, I consider the potential consequences of distancing myself from the emotional crutch that I had been led to lean on for practically a decade. 

Today, I found a new method that instantly eased my anxious heart. I ate a bunch of salt and it felt really good.

I Started Thinking Outside of the Box

I know what helps prevent an anxiety attack for me - deep breathing, yoga, daytime walks in the sun, singing, cooking, dancing, the list is endless. The problem is incorporating things that make me feel alive into days overflowing with work, work, and more work. 

There just never seems to be enough time left in the day for self-care. When I exercise, stay calm, and sleep enough, I tend to prevent my various self-destructive behaviors, mental blocks, and procrastination that explodes as a result of an unkempt mind.

It feels like I'm starting from scratch as I do a deep dive into my field of passion. I'm learning new skills every day and adapting to my mental changes through this time. So, today, I decided to eat the salt out of the bottom of my bowl of freshly popped popcorn.

How Salt Treated My Nerves Unexpectedly

The crystals of the pink Himalayans sparkled in my bowl. I decided to stick my finger in and take a big lick of straight-up salt. I was feeling a bit on edge all day, but I wasn't really in the mood to help myself or fix it. 

I was feeling unmotivated (which is extremely out of character for me, the girl who is always hustling.) I was feeling antsy but didn't really feel like taking a break to do something fun. (Even though, realistically, it would have probably helped me to be more productive.)

I just took a lick of the salt and something happened. My uneasiness melted away, my anxiety softened, and the tension I had been holding in my shoulders gracefully collapsed. It was the first time that I had actually eaten salt in that way. 

Photo by Jason Tuinstra on Unsplash

For some reason, it just felt so good and even invigorating. I didn't think it could be the placebo effect because the use of salt for the treatment of anxiety or even brain fog is not something I had ever heard of before.

It made sense though the more I thought about it. I have always been able to find solace at the beach in the saltwater air. So I sat there as I worked, and continued to lick up all the salt I wanted at that moment. 

It was probably the quickest fix for anxiety that I have ever experienced. It literally relaxed me within seconds. It was honestly kind of weird.

Why Does Salt Relieve Stress?

Traditional table salt is often stripped of nutrients such as potassium through the bleaching process. Typical salt increases blood pressure because it's refined. 

Himalayan pink salt is said to help with our stress hormone cortisol. It also increases oxytocin, a powerful hormone that acts as a neurotransmitter and essentially makes us feel happy. 

Everyday activities like hugging, kissing, cuddling, and sexual intimacy are all things that produce this hormone, allowing us to feel relaxed and have a positive impact on our disposition and mood.

From a psychological point of view, many people specifically deal with social anxiety. When oxytocin is produced, it actually helps us feel closer to others, as it's known as the bonding hormone.

Incorporate More Salt Into Your Life Without Going Overboard

I was always very wary of how much salt I consumed, mostly because of its link to hypertension and various health diseases. When I learned that salt may contribute to swelling in the body and bags under the eyes, I severely reduced my salt intake. 

With that, I soon realized that salt is also an essential nutrient, good for replacing electrolytes in the body, and essential to nerve and muscle function. I never considered it as a quick fix to curb rising anxiety, but now I do.

I cook with pink salt or table salt, add it to my popcorn and raw veggies (like cucumber slices) and sprinkle a teaspoon into my warm lemon water in the morning.

Is Pink Salt Superior?

Pink Himalayan salt is a pink-colored salt extracted from the Khewra Salt Mine, which is located near the Himalayas in Pakistan. -Healthline.com

The harvesting methods of this salt involve the extraction of the hands, and minimally processed to avoid unnecessary additives. This allows it to be more mineral-rich than white salt, and it's especially high in iron.

Pink salt has up to 84 essential minerals such as strontium and molybdenum, unlike white salt. It's also significantly higher in calcium, potassium, magnesium, and iron, but funnily enough, lower in sodium. 

Despite the nutrient profile of pink salt, it's found in trace amounts and statistically insignificant.

There are many claims across the internet that pink salt can heal a vast spectrum of ailments, with little to no actual evidence to support the claims. Personally, I use both pink salt and table salt (with iodine added) interchangeably, depending on what I reach for in my spices cupboard first.

With an increase in salt consumption in the US, I can't believe it took me so long to realize why people love it so much and are even addicted to salty foods.

So the next time you're feeling anxious, maybe try reaching for the salt! I truly hope it helps.

〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰

If you enjoyed this piece, please consider leaving a tip. Thanks!✌️😊

advice
Like

About the Creator

Susie Pinon

Italian chick with a New Yorker attitude. Free-spirited, eclectic by nature, vegan. I'm fueled by my passion for the art of words. I'm addicted to chocolate + love to heal through the sun's rays. Let's talk words

https://linktr.ee/xosusiep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.