Longevity logo

Why Dancing Should Be Part of Your Daily Routine...

A Struggle with Stress, Body Image, and No Time for Myself

By Jacob ElliottPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Dance Dance Dance

Have you ever had one of those moments where you start dancing like nobody's business, and by the end of it, you feel euphoric? Dancing has been proven to have a number of health benefits. Some of which include improving the condition of your heart and lungs, stronger bones, muscle strength and tone, lowering stress, improving emotional well-being, and even weight management.

You do not have to be an expert dancer to dance! Now, I am no expert dancer. I have had no prior training before attempting to dance. What I know is from observation and just letting my body do its thing.

In the rush of the morning — getting washed, dressed, making sure you have everything you need for the day ahead, breakfast, packed lunch — we forget to take a moment for ourselves. It has been shown that the first thoughts of your day shape the remainder. So for me, it's a no-brainer that our morning routine needs to include something that sets a positive intention for the day!

Some people use yoga, meditation, running, singing, drinking lots of water, positive affirmations, and many more things to set their intention for the day. As someone that is a strong believer in intention and setting yourself up for the hours ahead, I have tried most of these. Some have stuck, and I continue to use them today. Others, I don't even want to think about. One that has stuck with me for a long time, though, is putting on my favourite playlist and dancing like nobody is watching! I dance in the shower (carefully, gracefully, and with limited movement). I dance as I am brushing my teeth, doing my hair, putting on clothes, making breakfast. I even try and incorporate dancing into my day. When I get the chance, I will happily go for it listening to my favourite songs (although, this is not a recommendation if you care about people watching you dance).

Dancing allows you to freely express yourself in a way that is unique to you. It can help you work though emotions that may be troubling you. It can become a meditation. It can become part of a spiritual practice. The possibilities are endless with how you can use dancing like nobody is watching, to benefit your health and life.

As someone that has struggled with body image for some time, I found it hard to dance once I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror. After working with dancing — using it as a tool for positive reinforcement, and dancing in the mirror whilst telling myself 101 affirmations, I have found dancing to be an effective tool in positively changing my body image. It has given me a foundation to not care what people think and to not take life so seriously — like my dancing!

For me, dancing has become part of my life and a personal/spiritual practice. This is something that I never fail to incorporate into my day. This is a time that I can dedicate to myself, giving me that much needed attention I desire. Doreen Virtue, PhD, once said that we all need at least one hour a day to ourselves. I find that popping on a playlist as I get ready, and boogieing away, gives me a feeling of replenishment I need to recharge, realign, and get ready for the day.

Personally, I use Spotify for my music. I have created different playlists that I use on a regular basis to motivate my moves. If you don't have access to Spotify, you can use a number of online platforms and playlists to inspire your groove.

Dancing is something that has changed my body, mind, and life for the better. Using this tool with many other exercises, I have changed my internal image of myself, I take life less seriously, I take people less seriously, I am aware of my own power, and each and every day, I have a practice that brings me back to my true-self. In this time, I can freely express myself without fear of judgement or ridicule. By creating this sacred space, I boost my own personal power and give myself all the loving I need and previously looked for from friends, family, and material objects.

You are the most influential person in your own life, and only you can make a change. Create or find a playlist that resonates with you, and dance your heart out, baby! Make music and dance a part of your being. Inspire yourself with your groovy moves.

Namaste — The light/love/dancer/weirdo/energy within me bows to the light/love/dancer/weirdo/energy within you.

self care

About the Creator

Jacob Elliott

I'm a student on so many levels. Holistic and complementary therapies are my life and soul. I have a lot I would like to share with the world :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jacob ElliottWritten by Jacob Elliott

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.