Longevity logo

What's in My Crystal Bag

All the crystals I've been hoarding

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

If you're a crystal lover like me, chances are, you have a decent amount of these healing stones stashed somewhere. I work in a crystal store, so it's easy for me to get...uh, carried away with collecting.

Today, I thought it would be fun to do a "what's in my bag" kind of post but with a crystal spin on it. We'll be looking at the backpack I take to work with me, my purse, and any other pocket I can find and exposing what crystals live there.

I will say this. Some of these crystals really have no reason to be here other than they just are. It's easy for me to stash a crystal somewhere and forget it. So, let's take this time to clean through our bags and sort through our stuff!

In my purse:

Sunstone

I always try to keep some sunstone with me at all times. I adore this crystal, and I must say, it's a tad pricey. If you plan on getting sunstone, invest in some that are high-quality. Sunstones can have radiant shimmers and bright sparkles in certain conditions. The quality makes it well worth it. I love it when sunstones have black spots in them! The contrast is beautiful.

Pink Botswana Agate

Pink Botswana Agate is a recent addition to my collection. The store I work at stocked them a little while ago, and I caved and got a few tumbles. I was so inspired by these guys that I created a post for it. I'll link it here and here.

Dalmatian Jasper

Polka dots make me unreasonably happy. I don't know what it is, but I just love them. This Dalmatian Jasper in my purse was a freebie I got with a crystal purchase. I love that it's small and cube-shaped, making it easy to store.

Orthoclase

Finally, we have Orthoclase. This crystal is like Dalmatian Jasper, but it has beautiful orange colors. I talk about the similarities between these two in my posts. I'll leave it linked here and here. The color scheme kind of reminds me of cave people paintings. It's so timeless and pretty.

Alright, time for part two. My work bag is a backpack, and we all know that it's too easy to let things accumulate at the bottom of this accessory. Let's see what we have here.

More Pink Botswana Agate

I went on a hike and brought them along for a photoshoot (which is why some of these pictures are better than others.) I mentioned having a few pieces of this. This is where that comes into play. There is so much variation in these crystals, and I adore them all. This one looks a lot like coral, and it's my favorite thing in the world.

Fossil Coral

Fun fact: this crystal was a part of my "five crystals I discovered" series. I ultimately scrapped the post it was included in because it was uninspired. Still, it's a fascinating crystal to talk about. Basically, some fossils have been crystallized and have had agates form over them. The impression of the fossil is still there. Mine is this black, white, and gray color scheme, which looks timeless. Surprise, surprise, I got mine at work. You'll see this trend a lot down the list, but it's so easy for the work crystals to go in the work bag.

Rhodonite

There are two of these together because:

A. I love them.

Rhodonite is my go-to crystal for shadow work. I think the pink and the black lines make it look so unique. My favorite kind of Rhodonite is Peruvian Rhodonite. Those will be a lighter pink, almost a bubble gum color.

Rainbow Moonstone

Buying this one was mandatory because I'm pretty sure it has aquamarine inclusions. If you don't know what I'm talking about, here are my cheat sheets for crystal terms (this and this).

Inclusions are basically add-ons that form inside other crystals. Aquamarine is really rare and expensive, so to see one inside a moonstone was so exciting. Admittedly, the inclusion could be blue tourmaline, but hey, who's to say either way. I'm not selling it anyway, so it hardly matters. If anyone can definitively tell me what it is, then shoot. I'd love to hear from you. In the meantime, I'm going to say that there is a 50/50 chance of it being Aquamarine.

Caribbean Blue Calcite

This was a Christmas present, so I wanted to always keep it close. I talk about this calcite here and here, but I'll rehash the highlights. Caribbean Blue Calcite was discovered in 2019 in Pakistan, making it relatively new to consumers. We all know that I'm a sucker for the ocean, so this crystal was inevitable.

Citrine

This piece of Citrine was gifted to me last year. It's semi-clear, and it has a rainbow inclusion in it. This piece of quartz has the breathtaking phantoms you see in similar crystals in this family. Citrine is known for being a happy and abundant crystal, so I love keeping this one with me.

Orange Calcite (2)

This one is kind of funny. I have a mini orange calcite tumble and a larger rough piece. The smaller crystal is easy to miss, so I accidentally brought another one with me. I've spoken about this before, but the difference between rough and tumbled crystals is incredible.

Fire Agate

I don't know a ton about fire agate, so maybe the pattern is standard. It has this intricate, almost spider-web-like design on the side of the agate. It's a plainchant shape as well. The fire agate is also transparent! Looking inside crystals is one of my favorite things to do.

Bumblebee Jasper

This piece of jasper is one of the oldest crystals in my collection. I got it maybe two and a half years ago. Much to my surprise, this piece is pretty matte compared to others I've seen. A lot of the time, Bumblebee Jaspers will have a very bright, honey-yellow color on them. Mine is more of a daisy-yellow. It's still a pretty piece, and I love having it.

Carnelian (2)

One Carnelian is cubed-shaped. The other has a really saturated orange color to it. Carnelians are gaining tons of popularity, and it's easy to see why. I've always known it as "the social stone," meaning it helps the wearer with social events.

Dendritic Agate

The store I work in got these when we got Fossil Coral Agate. All of them have Druzy Agate Pockets or Vugs. Basically, it means that Druzy Agate, best known for its sparkles, has formed within the host crystal. These pockets are also considered windows since you can look inside and see all the sparkly goodness. Dendritic Agate by itself is unbelievable. It almost looks like resin art. Mine is white, black, gray, and yellow, with the most delicate formations.

Malachite

The tumbles I take to work with me are some of my favorites. I always use Malachite as an example at work. If the name ends with ite, don't consume it! Don't submerge it in water and drink that, to be precise. Malachite has sulfur in it, which is toxic. Always check on which crystals can be placed in water.

Tourmalated Quartz

Last but certainly not least, Tourmalated Quartz. This one is almost a rough piece. The tourmaline inside is super sharp and prominent, which I love to see. Like the Citrine piece, you can sort of see through the Tourmalated Quartz.

There we have it! I've been thinking of writing a master list like this where I talk about all my crystals. I feel like that would be a post that is miles long and boring, so hopefully, this can be a middle ground. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. It doesn't go unappreciated!

Here is my Vocal page

Here is my website

Here is my Instagram

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.