Longevity logo

What Is the Power of Intuition?

The way to see the unseen and protect yourself from the unknown.

By SAYHERNAME Morgan SankofaPublished 5 years ago 7 min read
1
Image Credit: Diana Ross in Red

There is a time when it seems like the choices you make carry so much weight. It is the time when you find that your mind floods your brain, and then your body starts to hyperactivate in all of the possibilities. One choice could be the step where the floor falls in, and you lose everything and everyone that you care about. All can be lost if we believe the lie of self doubt, anxiety, or that trust in others is completely unconditional. There are always consequences, but there is a step that we all can take before making any choice (Besides prayer & consulting close confidants).

Even after your favorite teacher, counselor, cousin, or even that look from your dog tries to tell you what path to take, you have a space to go deeper inside of yourself. There is a way to shut your eyes and feel the energy in between your eyebrows called intuition. The way I see it, intuition is when your soul tells you the path that will best protect you. There is something when you can sense others coming up from behind you; it is your sense of periphery. That ability to see "outside" of the boundary may seem like a crutch. You may think that being so hyperaware of others and what they want from you does not serve your best interest. Why do you have to take so much into account, others' words or inactions? At the end of the day you need to be able to stand clear of what drains you spiritually, or emotionally. For instance, I am one that gives people the benefit of the doubt. I say, "Okay I will stay at Tori's house a little bit longer to keep her company... why not?" But there is a threshold or a maximum that you can feel within. Your eyes start to get heavy, you remember that you have some extra Chapters to read for Physics, or you start to become agitated at every story your friend starts to tell.

Your body will tell you in subtle ways when to "get out" of a relationship, a sports team, or a college major for instance. I have noticed in moments that I have not listened to my own intuition and then I have to work 10 times as hard to dig myself out or I have to rely on others so heavily to reach a balanced or successful place. There are cycles of pain, stress, anguish, or even confusion that may become a permanent condition until you can stop it the first or second time your inner emergency alarm goes off. There was a time when I would believe that impressing people or being the one to always show up for someone against my own morals and inner knowledge was standard. When you impress people, you can bring negative conditions to others in your circle, or unintentionally bring in suffering for yourself. I remember that I used to have a roommate. I was a junior and she was a freshman. This time of transition for her brought her more risky behaviors such as living in a crowded and less clean room, getting noise disruption calls to our home, or even getting sick physically and mentally. And I was the "savior" who picked up my own pieces when I had to rearrange the living room in the morning, or not be able to have quality conversations with her because I was the elder of the house. I will give three of my ways to protect yourself from getting into compulsive patterns by dishonoring your own spirit.

1) Realize what you are feeling, and be able to see what the trigger was.

There is a power that we have when we know that no one else can cause us harm that we can't control. Even when people make promises, or say that they will show up for you, say they are angry at you, or even say that they love you, you should not let their words hold you like a puppet. There is this inner primal switch that we feel, which is our natural emotions. We feel like if someone pushed us that we should fight back, or if someone kisses us we should want their love back. But there is a feeling of boundaries being crossed when something is not right. When I feel this sense of violation I like to reassure myself that my feelings are my own. Being able to set these boundaries is the key to being grounded in your own morals. I often feel like we have been desensitized to letting others have this emotional control over us. The best way to avoid this is to keep a check on what causes you these explosive feelings. There are ways to calm down in these moments such as requesting time to think your answer over, or getting out of a feeling that is negative as soon as you can. Remember that you are in control of where you are, and who you associate with.

2) Do not feel guilty when you don't please others.

There is a feeling of guilt or accountability when you do not make every action to please your close connections every want or need. As an empath, I used to carry the weight of others situations, or the conditions that they created for themselves. When I found that I have my own life and spirit to fend for, it allowed me to release others. When you allow your own soul to bubble up in resentment, or having to walk on eggshells to please others, you are creating a prison of your mind and body. The key is that you do not have to say no to every want of the people around you, but do not make it your obligation. I would put the fact that when you see that the other person is in a dire condition do not leave them. There is a difference between being inhumane and not taking every wish of others to heart. Your own mental and physical health should be protected but not at the expense of others anguish. For instance: If someone calls you and needs a ride to the hospital and you have a car, you should say yes. But, if it is the third time that your friend asks you to loan him money then you should not feel guilty when you say no thank you (You could save your money!).

3) Take time to rest and sort out your thoughts.

Sometimes our minds get cluttered. We think about every wrong decision we make, or about what we will do if we don't get a A in class. There is a letting go of my mind that I practice to get to bed. What I do is I usually have my mind on dramatic events of my past (Usually not the most honorable moments on my part). But, at night I give myself permission to rest. I tell myself that I did enough thinking for day, and I get into the most comfortable position. For me I like to keep my camphor in water (Which has a peppermint like smell to induce rest), I put my ceiling fan on a gentle setting, and then I tell myself relax. So then you can see the "pressing" issues of your time, put realize they do not have to consume you. You can protect yourself the most when you are your own best companion. Your own best companion would tell you to take care of yourself.

You have the ability to control your emotional health when you realize that right in between your eyebrows you have the power to stop harm to yourself. And remember when you take care of yourself, you can start a trend. Better health for you may be the encouragement for others to make positive changes in their lives too!

Much Love to All Of My Readers <3

spirituality
1

About the Creator

SAYHERNAME Morgan Sankofa

Say Her Name

https://www.aapf.org/sayhername

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.