Longevity logo

What is Happening to Our Memories?

What is Erasing and Replacing Our Memories?

By Big DreamsPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
What is Happening to Our Memories?
Photo by Jorge Fernández Salas on Unsplash

I remember a rainbow where the purple is on the top.

I remember things that aren't true in this world. I've written about the Mandela Effect, and while this article will go into that a bit, I mostly want to discuss memory.

And specifically, what is happening to our memories?

A few years ago, I started losing my memory. It was pretty sudden, adn just kept getting worse. By a couple of years later, all I remember about my life is a shaky scaffold with a few bits of specifics sticking out here and there.

And what I do remember from my life sometimes is contradictory, as if there were several world-lines meshed together.

I don't remember my children growing up. That's the worst part of it.

My sister and I had a discussion today about this. I don't see her often, and I don't know a lot about her life. I mentioned to her about my memory problem.

She said she was having teh same problem. We talked about how we have to rely heavily on calendars, planners, and daily to-do lists. She chalked it up to getting older, but my kids don't remember much from their childhood either.

My other sister complained of the same thing a month or so ago, but not until I mentioned it first.

I read recently that several members of the cast of "Friends" don't remember much of the making of the show. I keep hearing these stories from all kinds of people, of all ages.

When I read articles I've written sometimes, I don't remember writing them.

The past few months, my short-term memory started going as well. That is much scarier than losing your long-term memory.

With the Mandela Effect creating a new past, it seems like our memories are being erased and replaced. Maybe it's a natural phenomenon, or maybe it's intentional.

I don't have a real guess either way.

It just feels like it's a part of what's going on in the larger picture of how strange the world is lately.

I was watching a movie a couple of months ago. Just a romantic drama/comedy to distract me from my depression and hopelessness at the time. I was literally watching this movie because I thought it could safely be ignored, and I wouldn't have to think about anything or my life.

During a scene in the movie, there was a scene with a cross. Near it was a full circle rainbow. I noticed immediately that the bottom of the circle, the top of the rainbow was purple. The top, usually visible half, is red in this world.

I felt a huge feeling, like chills up my spine, but it wasn't chills. It was a spiritual feeling. I know, I Know, it was a sign from God. The cross at the same time said something about hope.

I feel somthing now as well. A small spiritual feeling similar to the frisson when you hear some really special, beautiful music.

My hope returned then, and I don't think I'm going to lose it again.

I don't know what this literally upside-down world is. I don't know where we are. I don't know where I am.

I don't even know where I'm going with this post now. I was going to write something totally different.

But I felt I needed to write about this story I just told you.

The rainbow is God's covenant. At least that is the way it is in my memory. Of the old Bible, of the old world. Every rainbow is a circle. It has an upside, and a downside. It is not even a mirror. It is a whole.

I can't forget the visual representation of the Hero's Journey, as a circle. Maybe that is where we are. I think we can only go up the circle now.

spirituality

About the Creator

Big Dreams

Writer and artist who loves dogs, beaches, coffee and solitude

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Big DreamsWritten by Big Dreams

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.