Longevity logo

What Is Happening?

Allergies Turning into a New Trend?

By Julia KuzminskaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Vegan falafel and ciabatta bread.

Nowadays, there are many people with allergies and intolerance. I know that you know that. Recently though I have realised something quite annoying, I could say. What is it? People making allergies a trend. This is what annoys me, drives me crazy. I have several friends who tried to make a trend out of it, by pretending they are lactose-free, dairy free, or gluten free, but next minute post cheesecake in all its might in a coffee shop; believe me, this stuff is not lactose or dairy free, neither gluten free.

What's the big deal?

Well, I am a person who thinks, that if you don't need something, don't buy it. I don't mean it in a wrong way, you are more than welcome to try it, but you don't have to let the whole Instagram know, that you are drinking it or have tried it. On top of that, don't pretend to be someone you are not. I know many people who have acted as they are allergic to something, but a day later post a photo from McDonalds, which I can assure you does't have anything that is suitable for vegans. Are you effing kidding me? Plus on top of that, the photos that my friends have been taking have been from the country where it is still difficult to get for example vegan alternatives, or they are very expensive.

Again people will be asking what's the big deal, they are just trying something new. Yes, but to let the whole world know that they are lactose-free and then making a fool out of yourself is another thing. People claimed that they are doing it for a diet, weight loss. Nope. Totally not. Soya milk, especially the flavoured ones, have a lot of sugar in them. Lactose-free milk—just because is lactose-free doesn't mean it's healthier, I know it doesn't contain lactose which is a sugar from milk, but no. It is not healthier.

Another thing that drives me nuts is the number of questions I get as a lactose intolerant person about my allergies and I know other people do as well. Such as:

  • So, what do you eat then?
  • How can you live like this?
  • Wait, you can't have a milk chocolate?!

and so on.

Number one is, guess what, there are so many lactose-free and vegan alternatives, that I don't have to worry about not being able to eat anything.

Number two, well I guess I live like any other human being, just with a little bit of a restriction sometimes.

Number three, no I can't have a milk chocolate, which is a downside of it, but at the same time, I prefer dark chocolate anyway.

My conclusion to this whole thing is; stop asking these ridiculous questions unless you've just recently found out, you are allergic to dairy, nuts etc. We don't need them. We are living happy lives and don't need stupid comments about it. On top of that, stop making it a trend. This is what causes the hospitality industry stressful, everyone is claiming they are gluten-free, which later on may cause a problem, as people who have a severe intolerance to gluten will suffer, because of brainless people, decide to say I am allergic to gluten just because they've been reading magazines about how ''bad'' gluten is for them and then, that poor person is getting a Yorkshire pudding on their plate. Please, please, understand that allergies are very serious and there is nothing trendy about them, as there are many people dying because of them and very often especially in hospitality industry the chefs and the managers have to take the blame, most of the time costing them their jobs.

Vegan alternative, lemon cookies

diet

About the Creator

Julia Kuzminska

I am an amateur photographer and traveller with big dreams.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Julia KuzminskaWritten by Julia Kuzminska

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.