Longevity logo

What gets your body excited?

What keeps you moving?

By Charmaine van der MerwePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
Image from pngfuel.com

So what keeps me moving?

I would have to say…

“Music, Music, Music”.

Who can say truthfully that they are not a huge fan of music, and when that song comes on that we all love you don’t find yourself enjoy it by moving with your body while taking it in with your mind and your soul.

As the music’s rhythm changes so does your body, fast and then slow, sometimes it’s a flowing movement and other times more jerky or bouncy.

We all love music no matter who we are, our genres may differ but music is inside of us all.

Staying active has been something that I have always been since I was a child, I am not a fan of running, or weight lifting and try to avoid it as much as possible, however, I have found ways to keep active without them.

Whenever we think of weight loss and keeping fit gym seems to be the first thought that pops into our heads. We tell ourselves that we need to go to the gym at least five times a week and fall out the door from exhaustion to know we have achieved our goal for the session.

Image by Kinkate

We think that getting up at the crack of dawn to go running for miles on end is just what our bodies’ need.

Well, then I must have been brought up very differently, as my parents were never active people, in fact, the only exercise my mother got was running around after me at my dance competitions and my father’s arms got a good work out from his beer bottles.

I found my passion at the age of seven, I remember it like it was yesterday, my mother pulled up at the school to fetch us and told my sister and me that she had a great surprise for us.

It was only moments later that we found ourselves outside of a dance studio. My mother had arranged for us to watch a lesson from the back of the class to see if we would like to join. Being a very shy and withdrawn child this would help to bring me out of my shell a little.

I remember sitting there wanting to jump up and go take part immediately, I found myself holding my body down but all I could think about was dancing.

The dancers were doing modern dancing, they looked so happy and bubbly. Just then they all swapped over to what I now know as tap shoes and when that started I knew I wanted to join.

The sounds that the shoes made as the dancers moved their feet were so captivating, I was in a trance as I sat as still as I could watching their every move. Taking in each step, in my head, my feet were moving in the same way as they were.

I was sold!!

So that’s where my active life started, and today I may not be the dance teacher or choreographer I always wanted to be but dancing has stayed a part of my life in a huge way.

So what is it that I do to stay active you ask?

No, it’s not modern dancing, nor tap dancing.

I have found some other ways to enjoy dancing while staying active.

Image by pngfuel.com

Zumba is a great example of one of them, I have always loved the way they use traditional dance styles and incorporate them into a workout. I can dance and dance and dance and it feels like I am having fun, it’s not just a work out to me.

If I feel like something a little different then I will log onto the Play Station and do some Dance. I love this as I get to sing along at the same time as dancing and my kids get to join in with me and make it a real family work out.

And then lastly I do have to admit that I absolutely enjoyed going to aerobics classes once a week while living in South Africa, it was a workout but still felt like I was doing a dance routine. I worked up a real sweat while loving what I was doing.

I really think that if you do an exercise that you love and feel drawn to, you are going to be able to achieve your goals much easier than if you don’t. I would suggest sitting back and thinking about what is it that you love, what gets your body excited and wanting to get up and going.

If it’s boxing then try Taebo, if it's dancing there are so many different styles of dance type routines you will find today. If you are a more calm and chilled person try Yoga or Pilates.

Image by Burst

There are so many different ways to get your endorphins going in today’s fitness world that there is something out there for everyone, especially those who would rather work out in the comfort of their own homes.

YouTube has opened up so many doors for us to free online classes that you will enjoy from home, less costly than going to a gym and making you feel comfortable in your own space.

Living in Australia I have learnt that they take fitness really seriously, we live really close to a park, and every day there are joggers running before the sun is up, people walking their dogs, parents with their kids running around on the field or riding bikes.

As I watch them I breathe in and tell myself it’s time, time to get up again and to start enjoying life, get my body back into shape in a way that I use to love.

I exhale releasing the months of being cooped up at home and doing nothing but lazing around the house and decide that no matter what, it’s time to get back in shape.

"Round" may be a shape but it’s not my favourite, confidence comes with feeling good, and I need to start feeling good again and getting my confidence back up there.

Image by pngfuel.com

If you are struggling to stay motivated to exercise remember – You Not Alone, we all have our flaws but let others around you motivate you and find your inner love, let that guide you to a routine that you will love just as much to reach your goal.

Inhale, Exhale and never give up.

YouNotAlone

Resources:

Free images used from pngfuel.com

Images used from Stocksnap.io

lifestyle
2

About the Creator

Charmaine van der Merwe

I am a mother of 4, and soon to be a grandmother. Family is very important to me. I love sharing my life experiences with everyone, its a way for me to express myself.

I don't have a specific niche' and write about whatever is on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.