Longevity logo

To Greedy Billionaires Who "Warned" Us About the Current Plague

To Selfish Billionaires

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Billionaires have a constant, and steady source of income because they started businesses, while actually being the owners of their net worth. I want to become one of them because I'm eager to prove my family wrong, both the liars as well as the believers of those lies. But anyway, this isn't about them since I do not have THEM on the OCD brain right now. What I have on my mind is how billionaires like Bill Gates have proposed that the world is not ready to deal with a pandemic. The link below is all about Bill Gates saying we aren't prepared for a larger epidemic. The video is dated March 19th, 2020.

The Ebola and Zika virus was contained when these were going around. But Covid-19 is a different animal altogether since the sick people can walk around without showing symptoms for a good while. Science is coming up with new vaccines such as a malaria vaccine. Gates feels that epidemics or pandemics can surprise us big time. He states that we have to be careful with how we maximize our investments to deal with the challenges that face us.

1 With regard to the pandemic situation as it currently stands, Bill Gates was asked how to prepare for the next pandemic way back in 2015 when the silly US cut back on pandemic preparation funding. In 2015, he did a TED talk that stated we are not ready for the next pandemic, period. And now five years later, the pandemic has arrived, and silly us, are we prepared? No. Billionaires need to give up the wealth a bit more to us average people, since we all will be getting a stimulus check. I'm trying to hang in there with what money I do have.

The billionaires warn us but prophets are never welcome in their own country. Medical teams were not ready in 2015, much less in 2020. Bill Gates has stated that there were many things missing from having teams prepared for the next pandemic. Is coronavirus that devastating today? The nature of the virus is a huge factor that has played out on the global stage. The current coronavirus has infected 1 million people, while the virus has killed 59,000 people. Currently, the United States has 270,000 cases with 7,100 deaths.

There is a positive in all of this; the Spanish death toll is lowered to 11,744 deaths from a rise at 7.3%. Countries should be preparing for the virus in epically large proportions by working together instead of being snippy with each other. The United States is trying to stop the spread of this virus inside their borders, which is why a lot of people are staying home. It should be remembered that the flu, and colds are going around at the same time as coronavirus. For some people, it is hard to tell which is which according to one source I happen to have asked, but whom I will keep to myself.

The orders to stay home coming from the State and the Feds who agree on something for once in their lives, is something I'm following although the time has come to do my laundry again. That's the most I've been getting out lately. Yes, some people are still allowed to go to work. The thing is that I'm not going anywhere. I commit to self-isolation, although my laundry needs to be done. But anyway, yes, I'm trying to keep my head together throughout this coronavirus business, as I need to keep up with eating a certain amount of calories. Billionaires are in the position to donate ventilators and masks to those in need of these essential supplies, so don't hoard.

Works Cited

https://www.businessinsider.com/how-bill-gates-is-dealing-with-coronavirus-outbreak-2020

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/coronavirus-bill-gates-epidemic-warning-readiness/

https://www.cnn.com/world/live-news/coronavirus-pandemic-04-04-20/index.html

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.