Longevity logo

Time to Relax

A Busy Single Mom's Weekend Routine

By Beckie MayPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1
Time to Relax
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

As a single mom juggling work, household chores, and the demands of raising kids, finding time to relax can feel like a distant dream. Yet, amidst the chaos of everyday life, carving out moments of tranquillity is essential for recharging and maintaining sanity. So, how do I manage to unwind and rejuvenate during my precious weekends before the week starts again? Let me take you through my personal weekend routine, filled with little moments of self-care and relaxation.

Saturday mornings are sacred in my household. It's the one day of the week where we can afford to sleep in a little longer, so I often start my day with a leisurely cup of tea in bed (I've never been a coffee girl!). As my household still sleeps, I take a few moments to savour the quiet before the hustle and bustle of the day begins.

Once I've mustered up the energy to get out of bed, it's time to tackle the never-ending to-do list. While my kids are occupied with their weekend activities or playing with friends, I use this time to catch up on household chores. From laundry and cleaning to grocery shopping and meal prepping, there's always something that needs to be done.

But amidst the chores, I make sure to sneak in some self-care whenever I can. Whether it's indulging in a long, relaxing bath or taking a short walk outside to soak up some sunshine, these small moments of me-time are essential for maintaining my mental well-being.

As the day progresses, I try to strike a balance between productivity and relaxation. While there are errands to run and chores to finish, I also make sure to leave some time for activities that bring me joy. Whether it's reading a book, practicing yoga, or binge-watching my favourite TV show, I prioritize activities that help me unwind and destress.

Saturday evenings are all about quality time with my kids. We often have a movie night complete with homemade popcorn and cosy blankets, or we'll spend time together cooking dinner and sharing stories from our week. These simple yet meaningful moments remind me of the importance of cherishing time with loved ones and creating memories that will last a lifetime.

As Sunday rolls around, I make a conscious effort to slow down and recharge for the week ahead. Whether it's spending time outdoors, enjoying a leisurely brunch with friends, or simply lounging around the house in my pyjamas, I prioritize activities that help me feel rested and rejuvenated.

Sunday evenings are reserved for relaxation and reflection. I take some time to plan out my week ahead, jotting down important tasks and appointments in my planner. I also use this time to practice gratitude, reflecting on the blessings in my life and setting positive intentions for the days ahead.

As the weekend comes to a close, I find comfort in knowing that I've made the most of my time and prioritized self-care amidst the chaos of everyday life. While being a single mom certainly comes with its challenges, it also comes with countless rewards – and taking time to relax and recharge is one of the greatest gifts I can give myself and my family.

So, here's to the weekends – may they be filled with moments of peace, joy, and relaxation, setting the tone for a week ahead filled with love and laughter.

In the end, while my weekends may be busy and filled with responsibilities, they also serve as a reminder of the resilience and strength that comes with being a single mom. By prioritizing self-care and relaxation, I not only recharge my own batteries but also set a positive example for my children. After all, in the whirlwind of life, it's the moments of tranquility and connection that truly matter. So, as I bid farewell to another weekend and prepare to face the week ahead, I do so with a heart full of gratitude and a renewed sense of purpose.

lifestylehealth
1

About the Creator

Beckie May

I'm Beckie, and I'm here to bring you some wellness and positivity. As a busy single mom who works full-time, my main priority is my family's health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.