Longevity logo

Threading The Needle

Your answers are in the cards.

By Jennifer FennPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Isn't it interesting that each person seems to have something that their soul is drawn to? Some people are lucky enough (or are they divinely blessed?) to know from childhood exactly what they are passionate about and what they want to do with their lives. On the other hand, there are people who might spend years - if not their entire lives - searching for that something. The thing that is meant for them; the thing that will light up their soul.

That's me. I can't tell you how many different things I've taken a shot at in an attempt to find my "Life Calling". From hobbies to jobs to crafting - what haven't I tried? Growing up, I never wanted to end up with a job where I sat behind a desk most of the time, yet, that’s where I seem to find myself in almost every job I’ve had. As an attempt to combat the seemingly monotonous, everyday work; I took up crafting. I attempted quite a few different things such as scrap-booking, card & journal making, crocheting, any type of artsy thing – you name it and I’ve probably tried it. I enjoyed everything I did as well, especially the stuff that turned out cute! As much as I liked it, nothing ever seemed to stick for long. I’d get sick of the same old stuff and move on to something new and exciting.

For a long time I thought I was happy with my life; the people, the work, the hobbies. Somewhere along the line, I began to realize that I was only content and comfortable, but I wasn’t truly happy.

I started to recognize the fact that if I wasn’t happy with myself and my life, then how could I enjoy the best things in life? That’s when I started making changes. I quit my job and got a new one. My relationship ended. I started taking better care of myself, whether it was my appearance, my health (mental, emotional and physical), or my relationships with family and friends; and everything started coming together. When I started putting myself first, I began to find true enjoyment and love in my life, and I realized the people around me seemed to be happier and more comfortable as well.

As great as things were going, I still felt that there was something missing. I decided to just enjoy life for a while though and not worry about things I couldn’t control. That’s when it happened; my first Tarot reading.

I couldn’t believe how accurately my life and worries were laid out in front of me in those cards. I couldn’t stop thinking about it and I wanted more! I ended up getting my own set of cards and starting out on my way to learning as much as I could about Tarot. The journey has led me down many different roads and each one has brought me more understanding of myself and the world around me.

Tarot has become my favorite hobby and my go-to when I need to relax or straighten out my thoughts about anything going on in my life at the time. It helps me find different ways to think about solutions for questions I have that I likely wouldn’t have realized without it. Tarot can be used at any time and can help you answer any question that has importance to you.

In one of my favorite experiences, I was on a date with a guy I had been talking to. It was late at night back in February, and we had driven out to the middle of nowhere so he could take Milky Way photos ( I know, I know. What was I thinking driving out to the middle of nowhere with I guy I hadn’t known long?! We had met online and… Well, that’s a story for another time-and it’s a good one! Remind me to tell you later!). The moon was full and bright. I lit a candle, cuddled up in my blanket, and we got the cards out.

This was his first Tarot reading ever, and he had no idea what to expect- I’m sure he was thinking it was cute to just go with it and humor me, but he actually ended up loving it and having a great time! I won’t go into all the details (it can be quite personal sometimes). Although, I will tell you that he was in awe by the time we were done. He said that everything the cards were pointing out matched up perfectly with how he was feeling in his life at the time, and made him excited for the future.

I’ve done readings for a few family members that have been pretty intense when they have had major changes or decisions to make. Reading doesn’t always have to be about major events or concerns, and there are many different types you can do. I occasionally like to ask simple questions such as:

What/who do I need to focus on in my life right now?

How can I be creative this week?

What is my biggest block at the moment?

The list goes on! There are multiple different questions you can ask at any time. You just need to focus on the question, or whatever is on your mind most at the time.

When you do a reading, I believe the atmosphere of the room/area is important as well. I recommend being totally comfortable and relaxed, in whatever way that is for you. It could be early morning with the sunshine coming through the windows, or in the middle of the night when there are hardly any sounds or things going on to distract you.

Personally, I love to do a reading when its raining. I turn the lights down, pour a glass of wine, and light a few candles. Then I sit on the floor next to my coffee table with the windows open, and just relax into the reading.

Having a hobby has become a way for me to relax on occasion while also helping me navigate through life. This has been one of the most amazing outcomes thus far. I’ve come to find that I love being able to do Tarot readings for family and friends. I’ve watched the difference it can help make in their lives, even if it is just by opening up their eyes to new options and choices they hadn’t realized were there before.

Somewhere in the process of learning Tarot, I have learned so much more about myself. I find that helping other people discover and learn more about themselves makes me overjoyed.

I’ve finally found my purpose; the thing that lights up my soul.

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Fenn

Writing/reading is one of my favorite hobbies! I love finding new stories and authors with different writing styles, making each experience unique!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.