Longevity logo

Things You're Not Told When Buying a Fitbit

11 Things

By Erica LisherPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

Fit watches are all the rage. It seems like everywhere you go someone has a Fitbit or some other fitness watch design.

Here's a top things no one tells you when buying a Fitbit and the Fitbit scale.

1) They don't last long.

For the amount of money we spend on these watches, they don't last long. I've never had one last past the warranty. Between the band breaking on the charge (where you couldn't change the band), to it no longer picking up my heart rate, I've been through more than I'd like to admit.

2) Your wrist will smell.

If you like to track your sleep with your Fitbit odds are you are wearing it for most of the day. If you're like me, the longest it's ever off is while it's charging. Between working out, sweating in general and doing anything where water can get under the band (ie: dishes) your wrist will have the odd and rather funky smell, bringing you back to the day when you had your cast removed after breaking your arms.

3) Changing the bands will break your nails and your sanity.

They have tiny little release latches that you need to really get your nail locked on. And don't get me started on trying to put the bands back on.

4) Steps will vary.

When one goes to the zoo they expect to get a good step count it and chances are, they probably would. Go to the zoo with a toddler and not a chance. Despite the constant walking, if you walk slower than your average pace, your Fitbit won't count it as steps.

5) Manually track your workout.

The whole point of Fitbit is to create healthier choices, working out being one of them. Thing is, Fitbit won't pick up and track your workout unless your heart rate is certain level for 10 minutes. Once that happens it will then start to track. If your Fitbit allows it, manually go to workout and hit start.

6) Reminders

It doesn't matter how many steps you've already done, you will constantly get that "get up and move" reminder.

7) It will wake you up.

Between the screen waking every time you raise your arm (this can be turned off) and the heart rate tracker blinking at you if it's not tight enough it can and will wake you up with a blinding light.

8) Aria Scale is rubbish.

You can't move it, you can't wear socks, it can't be on carpet. There are a lot of rules for it to still give an inaccurate reading. It also forgets who you are from time to time, even if your weight hasn't changed. Not to mention the body fat % is unreliable.

9) The Calorie Counter

I’ve tried to use it a few times but never stuck with it. Not sure if it was just the stuff I was buying but a lot of it wouldn’t recognize with the barcode. It’s also just a hassle to go in and do it all the time. I’ve never gelled well with food trackers for this reason alone, but Fitbit is the one I’ve stuck with the least.

10) Syncing with Other Apps

Fitbit syncs with other apps like My Fitness Pal, which I was using on and off. Getting them to pair up was easy but to sync was a pain. My steps would transfer over easily into My Fitness Pal and the calories consumed that I marked in My Fitness Pal would randomly transfer to my Fitbit app. But exercise tracked on my Fitbit wouldn’t transfer over which means manually logging it into My Fitness Pal which would then log it back into my Fitbit. So it would show I did the same workout twice.

11) Customer Service

Is amazing! No matter the issue or how many times I've had to contact them they have always been really helpful and tried to solve the problem. If it can't be solved and you're still within your warranty they send you a replacement.

Fitbits are great and the more advanced they are becoming the more I want them. The newest one you can swim with! I don't swim but I wouldn't be so paranoid when washing dishes that it would get wet. Fitbits, despite their minor issues, are great. They have helped me track my steps (however inaccurately it may be at times) and stay active throughout the day. It’s pushed me to keep up on my workouts and not overindulge.

product review

About the Creator

Erica Lisher

I'm an avid reader and writer, baker and getting back into shape girl

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Erica LisherWritten by Erica Lisher

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.