Longevity logo

The Walk To Remember

A mini meditation for realignment of SELF

By Julia AlfredPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

The Purpose of meditation is to empty our mind to make space for the awareness of Now.

Studies have shown that 30 minutes of moderate exercise such as walking or running can significantly improve one’s state of mind. The burdens of everyday life can become overwhelming at times, so let’s take a walk today to bring you back to a state of consciousness that will be relieving and relaxing.

As you begin to walk, direct your attention to your feet. The feet are the extensions of our body responsible for movement. Our feet represent stability in our foundations for our body and life and can present physical pains for mental and emotional issues. How do you feel currently in life? Is there a need for change?

Repeat after me.

”I am safe and grounded.”

”I am stepping to the rhythm of the present moment.”

”I understand clearly and I am willing to change with the times.”

”I am moving forward in my life with joy and with ease.”

Slowly inhale through the nose to your lung's capacity and exhale through the mouth.

Take another deep breath through the nose and exhale through the mouth.

On this third inhale, begin moving your fingers as you shift your focus from your feet to your hands or the tool of tools according to Aristotle and our means of expression. Your hands are used to hold and touch. Is there anything in your life currently that you are holding on to strongly? Is there a need to express something you feel inside?

Repeat after me with all fingers bent except for the thumb

"I am at peace and so is my mind."

Touch your thumb to your index finger and repeat after me

"I am secure."

Now touch your thumb to your middle finger and repeat after me

"I am comfortable with my sexuality."

Touch your thumb to your ring finger and repeat after me

"I am peacefully loving."

Touch your thumb to your little finger and repeat after me

"I am myself with the family of life."

Finally, with all fingers relaxed, repeat after me

“I am choosing to handle all my experiences with love, joy and ease.”

We will now shift our attention to our breathing.Take notice of the air entering and leaving your body. Now take notice of the rise and fall of your chest. Deep inhalations provide more air to the body to be used to exhale and release all unwanted energy. Unwanted or negative energy can be identified by any emotion currently felt that is not peace or happiness. How are you feeling today? Breathing brings awareness of the lifeforce and reminds us that we are in control of everything as we are of our breath. Let’s do some deep breathing exercises to reinforce this lesson.

Inhale through the nose to your lung’s capacity, hold the breath for 1, 2, 3 and exhale slowly through the mouth.

Again, inhale through the nose to your lung’s capacity, hold the breath for 1, 2, 3 and exhale slowly through the mouth.

One more time, inhale through the nose to your lung’s capacity, hold the breath for 1, 2, 3 and exhale slowly through the mouth.

You can continue this practice throughout the rest of the walk as well as throughout your normal days. Conscious breathing will work wonders for the benefit of your mental health.

Now that we are more conscious, let’s direct our attention to what surrounds us. Notice the feel of the wind on your face? On your arms. On your chest and back. On your legs. Does it rustle your hair? Our skin is the largest organ of the human body and contains the necessary receptors that allow you to feel all that you feel right now.

Is there any noticeable scent? Is it pleasant or unpleasant? Do you smell anything at all? Our sense of smell is known to have a very powerful link to memory and has a more direct link to the emotional regions of the brain that all of your other senses. Are there any memories surfacing at this moment? Are these memories good or bad?

If your memory is pleasant repeat after me

“I am thankful for the experiences that have brought me joy and fulfillment.”

If you would like to release this memory and associated feelings repeat after me

"I now release the memory and feelings of that which does not serve my highest good".

Take a look around you?Is it familiar to you or is it new? Have you walked this way before? Why have you chosen this path?

What word would you use to describe the scene before you? Is there anything in your life that this word can be used to describe?

Have you noticed the sky today? What time of day is it? Is this the first time for the day that you have been outside? What colors do you notice? Have you ever noticed them before?

Continue to take in all that surrounds you. Shift your focus to the movements. Are there any or is there complete stillness? Remember that in stillness, there is peace. Stillness of breath. Stillness of thoughts. In the eye of a storm, there is stillness. It is the eye of the storm that gives us time to find shelter to weather the remainder of the storm.

Everything around you right now is alive and plays a role in this environment, is there something or someone that no longer has a role or place in your life? Or is there room in your life for something or someone new to be added?

Is forgiveness required? Repeat after me

“I am forgiving of myself and therefore I am forgiving of others.”

Again .

“I am forgiving of myself and therefore I am forgiving of others.”

Keep your attention on all that surrounds you. Look around as if searching for clues for he who seeks shall always find. What do you notice? Is there something that you have never seen before? Or is there something that you never truly notice in your daily life. How many things in your daily life have you started failing to notice? Is there something or someone that comes to mind? Isn’t it funny how we take for granted the constant things in our lives until we have to deal with the absence. Think of 10 things you are grateful for, for example, health, security, family, job, love. What are you grateful for? Let us begin.

  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • "I am grateful for..."
  • As we close our time together in synchronizing mind with body, may we be reminded that time is relative to our perception. We are always promised NOW. How we choose to live, think and be NOW is solely dependent on us. Let us choose to be aware and present and make healthy, conscious choices.

    Repeat after me.

    "I AM one. Mind, body and soul."

    And so it is.

    meditation
    1

    About the Creator

    Julia Alfred

    I am a born Dreamer leading an unbelievable life.Encountered people who match the villainous and heroic personas we read about in stories & done things I would surely do better.

    A penny for my thoughts is worth it.

    Visit Cathartic Whispers

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.