Longevity logo

The “Quasi-Keto” Diet: How I Benefit From Keto Without Going Into Ketosis

It’s possible to adapt keto to suit your fitness goals and preferences

By Corrie AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Photo by Nicola Barts from Pexels

As a rule, I am not a fan of strict fad diets because they aren’t sustainable or necessary for most people. The keto diet is no exception. However, over the past year, I’ve added several keto recipes to my menu because they still have some beneficial qualities that help me reach my fitness goals.

The difference is that I don’t follow it strictly, only for half of the day. And although I never enter ketosis — the primary goal of the keto diet — I’ve still been enjoying many other perks.

To be clear, I am not a nutritionist or dietitian. I have a personal training certification that gives a high-level overview of nutrition. However, I’ve studied the subject, and this approach has been working for me.

Always make sure you check with your doctor before making any changes to your diet.

How Keto Works

Before I get into my adapted version of keto, you might be wondering what the keto diet is and how it works.

It begins with glucose, which is blood sugar. Glucose is your body’s preferred energy source that you get from eating carbohydrates like bread, sugar, grain, starchy veggies, and most fruits.

The ketogenic or “keto” diet works by restricting your carbohydrate intake to less than 50 grams a day, which forces your liver to tap into stored fat and produce ketone bodies for energy instead.

While the standard diet has a typical macro ratio of 45–50% carbs, 25–30% fat, and 10–35% protein, the ketogenic diet is 5% carbs, 70% fat, and 25% protein.

The keto diet is very high in saturated fats like coconut oil, butter, nuts, and avocados. There are few fruits and vegetables allowed on keto since many are high in carbs and sugar.

But any type of protein is allowed on the ketogenic diet. Whether it’s lean chicken breast or greasy bacon, it’s all fair game.

The Problems with a Strict Keto Diet

I’m not here to argue that keto doesn’t work; studies show that keto can facilitate weight loss, although whether it’s because of ketosis or a calorie deficit is debatable.

But there are specific problems with it that make strict keto dieting a no-go for me.

1. Misses Important Nutrients

Since most fruits contain many carbs and sugar, keto dieters can only consume minimal amounts, mostly berries like raspberries and blackberries. Similarly, veggies are limited to low-carb greens like lettuce, cabbage, cauliflower, and cucumber.

Meanwhile, superfoods like kiwifruit, bananas, purple potatoes, sweet potato, carrots, and squash are bursting with vitamins and nutrients that are hard to find in keto foods.

As a result, staying on the keto diet can put you at risk for nutrient deficiencies like Vitamin B and Vitamin C.

2. May Be Tough on the Organs

The priority in keto is to keep carbs under 50 grams per day. That means keto dieters may feel like they can load up on unhealthy fats like bacon, low-quality cheeses, butter, and other foods with trans fats.

It comes as no surprise that some research has found a link between the keto diet and a lipid metabolism disorder known as dyslipidemia, which may result in heart disease.

There’s also an increased risk of kidney and liver problems if they become overloaded by fat and protein.

3. Not Ideal for High-Intensity Workouts

Keto enthusiasts will likely cite studies that indicate exercising on keto may accelerate fat loss and boost endurance.

But carbs are the body’s primary energy source, and switching to ketone bodies for energy can decrease performance. One study even found that high levels of ketones in the blood may cause fatigue and dampen your inclination to exercise.

I do high-intensity strength training five days a week, and I don’t want to jeopardize my workout by depriving my body of the carbs it needs to recover properly.

Why I Take a “Quasi-Keto” Approach

It takes a few days of strict keto before the body goes into ketosis, which means that a quasi-keto diet isn’t technically keto at all. But that doesn’t mean you don’t get some perks from eating keto meals part-time.

For example, I discovered that keto recipes pair well with other fitness strategies like intermittent fasting, exercise timing, and nutrient timing. After partaking in keto breakfasts and some lunches for about a year, it’s proved beneficial in a few ways.

1. Extends (Some) Intermittent Fasting Benefits

I fast for 16 hours every day between 7 p.m. and 11 a.m. I started this intermittent fasting schedule about a year ago to jumpstart a weight loss plateau. Now, I keep it up because studies show it slows aging, minimizes oxidative stress, and promotes a healthy microbiome through gut rest.

Fasting also induces autophagy, the body’s process of removing unhealthy or damaged cells and creating healthier cells. Many researchers believe this process may lower cancer risk.

By consuming nothing but “keto-coffee” in the morning, I can curb hunger while extending certain benefits of the fast. I’m consuming calories, so at this stage, the gut rest ends — but the calories are all fat, and so the process of autophagy isn’t interrupted until I have my protein-rich breakfast at 11 a.m.

I love keto coffee, and it’s a cinch to make! Just toss a cup of freshly brewed black coffee (decaf, in my case) into a blender with ½ tsp of butter, ½ tsp of coconut oil, and a pinch of cinnamon. You only need to blend it for about 10 seconds. Pour it into a mug, and it will be frothy on top like a latte.

It sounds weird, but it’s delicious!

2. Facilitates Macronutrient Balance

Even if you aren’t following a keto diet, it’s especially easy to overconsume carbs — particularly low-quality carbs.

The average American eats almost triple the recommended allotment!

By limiting carbs at the start of the day, I keep my macros in check and make room for the other two macros, specifically protein.

For example, my first meal of the day is a Greek yogurt bowl that’s very low in carbs and clocks in about 25 grams of protein.

This protein-rich breakfast also packs a ton of fiber, magnesium, and Omega-3 fatty acids. I mix 1 cup of Greek yogurt with ¼ cup of raspberries, ¼ cup of blueberries, 2–3 tbsps of chia seeds, and a tbsp of chopped walnuts.

High protein breakfasts are proven to improve muscle health, promote weight loss, and increase satiety.

3. Conducive to Carb Backloading

I eat most of my carbs in the evening, which is a strategy called “carb backloading.”

Truthfully, only a few small studies support carb backloading, and it’s not a proven method. However, some research suggests consuming most of your carbs at dinner can aid in weight loss and improve satiety.

And it’s been working well for me.

The concept of carb backloading comes from the fact that the body is more sensitive to insulin in the morning. Insulin is a hormone that lets the body harness glucose for energy. (If you remember from earlier, we get glucose from carbohydrates.)

But it’s also the hormone that tells your body to store fat. Therefore, the theory is if you eat all your carbs in the evening, your body is less likely to store fat and is more likely to use fat as fuel during the day.

It’s also ideal for me because I do my workouts at 5 pm every day, about an hour before dinner. Eating carbs in the evening right after my workout may help my muscles recover better and prevent muscle loss.

As a bonus, carbs at dinner also stimulate tryptophan which is known to improve sleep.

Final Thoughts

While I'm not too fond of the keto diet, I enjoy stealing a page from its book every now and then.

At the end of the day, if you’re managing your calorie intake properly and eating whole, minimally processed foods, you’re good to go. But if you’re ready to tweak your diet further, this strategy has been working well for me.

Of course, if whatever your doing is working for you, no need to rock the boat! Because the universal “best diet” doesn’t exist. There’s only the best diet for your specific health goals and preferences.

Originally published in In Fitness And In Health on Medium.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Corrie Alexander

Corrie is an ISSA-certified PT, fitness blogger, fiction-lover, and cat-mom from Ontario, Canada. Visit her website, thefitcareerist.com or realmofreads.com for book reviews and bookish tips.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.