Longevity logo

The Pill and the Polyp

Part II of a three part journal of womanly parts.

By Cheeky MinxPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Read Part I Here

This article isn't about sex. I know, I know. You're disappointed. Me too. But all the best writers say to write about what you know, and to this day, I know very little about sex. Not long after getting my bachelor's degree, I was safely married and out of sin's way. I had a whopping total of two sexual encounters before I met my first husband.

The pregnancy fear was always with me... even if nothing had happened that could have made me thus. It was a true paranoia. Eventually, I went on the pill, and that's when my body first rebelled, though at the time I didn't realize it. Being on the pill gave me a modicum of relief from my fears of getting pregnant... as long as I kept getting my period. When I was even a day late, I was consumed with dread until I saw red. I don't know why it was such a nightmarish thought for me. To this day even! Only now, I don't have to worry about it because my 2nd husband is snipped. Well, that and we're getting divorced.

When I say my body rebelled against the pill, I am referring to severe acne. Until that time, I had a pimple or two like every other teenager. Now, I was a college kid with a face like the proverbial pizza. It was so horrifying. And despite stopping the pill and trying different types, the acne never went away until much, much later. I often wondered if acne wasn't my "red letter." Yes, I'm a fallen women. I am on the pill and it's written all over my face. Having acne was an excruciating experience... the absolute worst.

But I think my body rebelled in other ways to the pill too, because it was about the time I started playing God with my own hormones that I experienced interesting mood changes around my periods. At the time, I called it PMS. But it wasn't the same PMS I had come to know as a younger women... the leaden legs, the irritability, the moodiness and cravings. This was different. I couldn't bear to be around anyone the days before my period. I felt like I was crawling out of my skin.

As the years of my life flew by, it was about 5 years into my marriage when I started having unbelievable cramps from hell. I would double over in pain, unable to move, rocking myself on the toilet, one hand reaching under a running cold-water tap. Sweat would pour off my burning body only to be replaced by icy chills. And then... poof! I'd be fine. Exhausted, but fine.

This went on for a year or two, gradually getting worse with time. My first ex took me to the hospital at one point where the ER ignored me for a good hour or two while I writhed on their floor screaming. They didn't even offer me a pain pill. The worst of the pain had passed when they finally called me in. X-rays and sonograms revealed nothing. So they gave me an enema. Hey, when all else fails!

It wasn't until several months later, and I kid you not, when I went to see a Tibetan monk that a miracle occurred. It went something like this:

I was called into a small office that had been set up for three or four maroon and saffron robed monks. They were sitting in chairs and motioned for me to sit in one. I don't remember saying anything. One of them looked at me and then began a series of chants. Before I left, he gave me some tiny little pellets to put in my drinking water... he said they were very precious particles from masters. I did as I was told.

A day later when I went to the toilet, something dropped right out of me. It was a uterine polyp. Plop! Right into the toilet. Needless to say, my OBGYN was rather astonished when I showed up bearing this thing. After that, I never, ever had cramps like that again. But the dysphoria unfortunately remained as regular as my period.

(Did you miss Part I? Read it here.)

bodysexual wellness
Like

About the Creator

Cheeky Minx

Cheekyminx writes intimately about PMDD (Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder) and hosts the Facebook page PMDD Life Support, a place where women with PMDD can find information and inspiration to cope. Your contributions are appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.