Longevity logo

The 'New Normal?'

What was wrong with the old normal...

By Joseph WillsonPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1

I was watching the latest news broadcast from Parliament Hill (I think that's what it's called) the other day. You know, the place where our illustrious leader, The Honourable Justin Trudeau does his daily Covid 19 broadcast for all to wallow and whine about. The thing about this broadcast that got me were the phrases, 'The New Normal', and that of...' This is going to last some more weeks?'

I had to ask myself right then and there just what in blazes does this actually mean? 'More weeks?' What in hell kind of a phrase is that? I thought he was an English teacher for shit's sake. Anyway, what got me more was the phrase 'the new normal'. I want to know exactly what he considers to be this new normal because from what I'm seeing out there, I personally do not wish to be any part of this 'new'. Are we not supposed to be showing each other a bit more compassion and perhaps empathy for others? You know, just for fun...

I sure as shit am not seeing it. If anything some folks I've run into have gotten downright cruel in their treatment of others. Treating each other like pieces of garbage really. The only person and only thing that matters is me kind of attitude, that's what I am seeing.

I do realise this has now passed a month of this 'lockdown or self-isolation' phase, or whatever you may be referring to this nonsense as to make it more enjoyable for yourselves. I also realise the weather has gotten much nicer (at least here on the west coast anyway) and people just want to be outside, doing outsidey things that we as a whole are really not supposed to be engaging in.

But. As Mr. Trudeau stated, 'It would be a shame if all the sacrifices we have made to this point turned out to be fruitless should we release ourselves from this self-appointed government mandated restriction too soon.' Okay, I did embellish a wee tad there for effect, numb-nuts didn't utter those exact words, but you get the jist right? He does have a very good point, and a damn sound one too. I do not believe he is the one that came up with such a conclusion as I do not believe him to be quite that intelligent, regardless a fine conclusion nonetheless.

Yesterday as an example of people just being out, they did seem to be out in droves...I was at the bus stop across the street, 20 feet from the corner and a man and woman walk around the corner and stop. I hear, 'You need to move out of the way so we can walk by.' No 'please could you make room' or any of that, what's it called? Politeness? No, this was a demand. My answer to this lovely couple as I was already standing on the curb, keeping in mind this part of the sidewalk is 8 to 10 feet wide, I said, 'just where would you like me to move too?'

Turns out, this was the wrong answer and he ever so politely called me an asshole and proceeded to walk into the middle of the street even though there were cars coming around the corner that now had to stop in and around the intersection to wait for these 'fuck wads' to get off said street after passing me. Before doing so, the man in question decides to clear his throat and 'hork' a 'big lugie' in my immediate direction and then 'flip me the bird' at the same time. I, was fucking mortified by his behavior. I truly could not believe what I had just witnessed.

His beef was that he did not want to get too close for fear of being infected, okay I get that- sort of, yet his way of dealing with this situation was to quite possibly infect me by spitting at me? What in hell kind of behavior is this from a grown man? If he was an American I'm sure he would have been a Trump supporter. Is this "The New Normal' Mr. Trudeau is referring too? I sure as shit hope not!

And what's with the masks people? Why on the Creators' green earth are you, wearing a mask, in your own car, by yourself with all the windows rolled up and driving around like this? Why? Are you afraid your car is going to infect you? Or maybe you are going to infect yourself? The idea of the mask is when you are in groups that are vulnerable. Unless you are an essential worker you should NOT be in a group of people. So why the damn mask? Fashion statement? I have to wear one at work and let me tell you it's the most uncomfortable damn thing. It restricts my vision, it fogs up my glasses and working in a kitchen, it's just damn hard to breathe.

Gloves? I've given up on that one. I have been saying since day one of this thing, 'why in hell are people wearing gloves?' I know glove etiquette as I have been using them for 30+ years in the food service industry. No one has mentioned this little point in all those videos going around as to the stupidity of wearing gloves all day long. Pick up a box and look at it- it states very clearly on every box 'SINGLE USE ONLY' in big black bold lettering.

I certainly know, I have had to point out proper glove procedure to countless employees over the years and they still don't get it. I've never understood why. It's really not that hard of a concept to grasp, and again they really are not all that comfortable to wear continuously. Hands get all sweaty, plus as soon as you touch 1 thing, they're contaminated.

'Social distancing?' Correct me if I'm wrong, please but is this virus not spread mostly by droplets? So this need for spacing each other 6 feet or more apart is simply so we don't spit or cough or sneeze on each other right? I realise there is a little more to it than that but that really is the main point, just in case someone, heaven forbid, forgets to cover their mouth and spews all over you. It happens. The entire 6 feet thing is to ensure the sputum of others does not end up on your person, even though the likelihood of that person being infected in the first place is low.

What I can't understand the people jumping off the sidewalk when you don't move out of the way fast enough. Not only do I find it hilarious, but at the same time ridiculous. People seriously think you are going to become infected by another person walking to close. Are they coughing or sneezing or spitting on you when they walk by? NO, of course not. Choosing to jump off the sidewalk and onto the road is ludicrous. Remember those rather weighty things with wheels that fly past you when you're walking? They hurt when they run you down because your on the road.

Common sense has become a thing of the past. Is this our 'New Normal?' Think about the reasoning behind what it is you are doing people. There are extremes to everything in life, usually they are unnecessary. That's why we are that's why we are taught common sense as children, in the hope we use it when we become adults.

I work in care homes and there is no social distancing, it can't be done. Are we all getting sick? No. We wear our masks and sanitize everything hundreds of times a day, residents included...and we do just fine. Proper hygiene in every sense and facet of the word is needed. Sure. The point is though, there is only so much you can do, if you're going to get this thing, then that's what is going to happen regardless of how safe you think you are being. You can do everything right and still end up in a hospital bed in the end. It's out of your hands in the grand scheme of things so stop being such a bunch of dickheads.

I think one of my greatest fears is when this is finally over, we as a society are going to be so far removed from each other we may never get back to the way we were. I personally miss being hugged and hugging others. With this be lost in the breeze along with the eventual eradication of this virus? Are we going to be standing 6 feet apart for the rest of our lives? Is that lovely plexi-glass shielding in stores going to remain in place after the fall of the great wall of Covid 19?

Will this become our 'New Normal?'

humanity
1

About the Creator

Joseph Willson

JP Willson is an accomplished chef who's worked in some of Vancouver and Victoria's most prestigious kitchens. Now as an author of two self-help books while living and working in Victoria, British Columbia. Life has become far from ordinary

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.