Longevity logo

The Clock is Ticking

Life is short and I keep forgetting

By Vivian R McInernyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Image by Francesco Maglione of Freeimages.com

My parents are old. And not just in the way all kids think their parents are old; I myself am old. My parents are practically olde with an Olde English "E."

Fortunately, they are still sharp. They live independently. They are mobile. They drive. I didn't say they drive well, but they have managed to get themselves to church and back every morning without incident. I want to believe their prayers act as some sort of perpetual preservative because old age just isn't old enough.

Even 90 years of life, long by human standards, is a mere blink in time. Houses in my neighborhood are older. Trees around here are much older. The small but sharp gray pebble I stepped on barefoot in my backyard (and cursed like a mother) could be as old as 3 billion years. That jagged little stone, nature's lost Lego piece, might still exist in another billion years for a space alien to inadvertently slither across and curse in a language that sounds like electronic beeps but could still make its space alien mother blush a particular shade of green. For a solid mass of minerals, 4 billion years is no big deal. On the other hand, a human can't even count aloud to 4 billion. That would take about 127 years and, frankly, none of us has the time.

Life is short. We're each on this planet for a mere blip of time compared to the infinite stretch of the Before Us and After Us. From stardust we came, and to stardust, we shall return.

Supposedly, the awareness of our own mortality is one of the things that separates humans from other animals. That and our ability to eat chocolate without croaking. But we do an excellent job trying to ignore our reality. It is as though we are born with the unique ability to hear the tick-tock of the clock counting down our seconds but choose to stick our fingers in our ears and sing "la la la" really loudly.

Case in point: games of solitaire. They exist solely to kill time as though we've got too much of the stuff on our hands and really need to dump some before our kids speed-dial producers of a reality TV show about time hoarders.

When you are a kid, and sometimes well into adulthood, everything unknown is scary.

But time is our most rare and precious commodity. It is, quite literally, all any of us have. Wasting time seems self-destructive and more than a little stupid.

Yet, I have to admit, I have a few games of solitaire on my phone. I rarely play them, though. I'd like to say I am too busy thinking profound thoughts about my own mortality because I am deep. In truth, I'm more likely splashing in the shallow end of the internet. I check a stranger's Instagram. She's so cool! Or scroll through yet another infuriating tweet. He's such a moron! And so, without planning, I fritter away my one wild and precious life chasing an endless thread on Reddit.

Shouldn't we all be living a little more, I don't know, urgently?

aging
1

About the Creator

Vivian R McInerny

A former daily newspaper journalist, now an independent writer of essays & fiction published in several lit anthologies. The Whole Hole Story children's book was published by Versify Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021. More are forthcoming.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.