Longevity logo

The Best Bollywood Dance Workout Channels

Exercise for people who don't really like exercise!

By TheSpinstressPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Best Bollywood Dance Workout Channels
Photo by SHIRAZ HENRY on Unsplash

It's New Year and I know I'm not the only one whose waistband is protesting.

Getting back into a workout routine after the holidays can be tough. It can be especially tough if, like me, you really don't like exercise. I don't care what the sporty types say: there's no way it's addictive, or 'just becomes a habit'. I've been on a lifelong mission to find an exercise that doesn't bore me to tears and require a day's worth of willpower to get through.

I've been doing Youtube toning workouts on and off for years (emphasis on the off). It wasn't until lockdowns hit and didn't stop hitting in 2020 that I really felt a need to get cardio from there, too. But what to do?

I huffed and puffed my way through HIIT workouts, got bored of boxing cardio and wandered off during woodchoppers until one day I had a brainwave: there must be dance workouts with my favourite Hindi move songs, mustn't there? And there were!

Here, in very approximate order of difficulty, are the best Bollywood dance workout channels I've discovered so far: guaranteed to give exercise haters the best possible chance of sticking to our New Year's Resolutions! You might even improve your dancing while you're at it.

Deepti (Dance with Deepti)

Deepti has an incredible number and variety of routines. There's a Bollywood dance workout to suit everyone on her channel, including absolute beginners walking workouts and videos aimed at seniors. The most common lengths by far are 25 and 30 minutes, but she has everything from three-minute abs to 45-minute step challenges.

My favourite by far is her Madhuri Dixit mashup. I love the songs so much I practically forget I'm exercising most of the time.

Sabah Kadri (Workout with Sabah)

Sabah's workouts are ideal for people whose first reaction to dance workouts is "Ugh, I can't dance." She provides explanations and modifications to help you along, and even separate tutorial videos for the most complicated moves. Plus, her chirpy energy is bound to cheer you up if you're not feeling exactly enthusiastic about increasing your heart rate that day.

Her workouts are themed around actors, holidays and toning moves for certain parts of the body. Apart from Hindi hits, she also ventures into both South movie songs and American pop.

My personal favourite is this 30 minute Belly Fat Burn.

Choreo and Concept

Choreo and Concept is a dance studio that's branched out; you'll find a lot of choreography and dance show videos on the channel as well.

Their Bollywood dance workouts are mostly 15 minutes long and fairly easy. There's no talking, making it ideal for people who just want to get on with the dancing. Most of the moves are not too difficult and they're repeated pleasingly often, so you can really enjoy yourself.

The one I keep coming back to is part two, and I think that's because I found it easiest in the beginning, so here it is:

Dhruvi Shah (Dhruvi Shah Dance)

Dhruvi's workouts tend to be a little more advanced than the others I've mentioned so far. They are usually twenty minutes long and high-energy. With themes ranging from 90s Shah Rukh Khan songs to the latest hits, you won't get bored any time soon.

Those who like to watch dance are in for a treat with her channel, too: she regularly posts beautiful choreography videos and shorts of the very latest songs.

My favourite of her workouts is undoubtedly number 6, the Kareena Kapoor medley. Bebo fans won't be able to stop singing along!

BollyBeats

Bollybeat's Youtube channel doesn't have as many workouts as some others - they focus on in-person classes - but what they do have is a lot of fun. Their 30-minute workouts are the ones to go for if you really like to feel tired and sweaty after a workout (which I'm told some people do). They sometimes include a nice yoga segment at the end, which feels like a reward by then.

My favourite, below, has a great mix of music and dance styles, including Bhangra and club-style mashups.

Fitness Dance with Rahul

Fitness Dance with Rahul was, for me, a kind of final boss. I tried one of his 15-minute non-stop workouts early on and the moves were way beyond me, so I was terrified of him for ages afterwards. Don't make this mistake! The level of footwork required in his workouts varies a lot, so if you fall over your feet in the first one, try another. They are always high-energy though.

His channel is the best for super short workouts - if you fancy three minutes of insanely cheerful jumping around to get your day going, this is the place to be. On the other end of the scale, he's also got the longest workouts of any of the channels I've mentioned here - up to an hour.

It's incredibly difficult to choose just one of his workouts to mention individually, but I do remember that I repeated this short and sweet Param Sundari one at least half a dozen times because I enjoyed it so much!

I hope you love these workouts as much as I do!

If this article has been interesting or helpful for you, please don't forget to leave a heart and subscribe to see more from me in your feed.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

I teach English, watch Bollywood, learn Hindi, herd cats, and don't buy new clothes. Follow me on the Spinstress for sarcasm and snacks; MovieJaadoo for Hindi film. :)

http://thespinstressblog.wordpress.com/

https://moviejaadoo.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.