Longevity logo

Texxx-Man Cosplay's Weight Loss Story

Proving That Quitting Was Not an Option

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
On the Left: 200 Pounds | On the Right: 160 Pounds

Greetings, Vocal readers. Happy New Year to everyone. This is my first article of 2019 and I hope that this year will bring joy and prosperity in your lives. I apologize for not posting an article sooner, but I'm back to put out great content and inspire others to do amazing things. I'm sure that most of you have some New Year's resolutions you want to achieve. For me, I don't like to call them resolutions, because nine times out of 10, most people won't stick to them. I call them New Year's goals, because there are some I want to accomplish. One of them is to lose weight and be in decent shape. I'm going to share with everyone my weight loss story and I hope by the time you finish reading this article, you'll be motivated to be active and live longer.

In early 2013, I weighed over 200 pounds. When I take pictures and look at them, my face and body looked plump. I looked disgusting and hideous. Growing up, I was a thin young boy. I was like that from elementary school until late 2011, which at the time, weighed 125 pounds. Around the spring of 2012, I was at 150 pounds. I was eating some of the most unhealthiest foods—mostly fast food. At the time, it was something to satisfy me and fill me up. I didn't have time to work out or go to a gym, so I continued to stuff my face in whatever foods I had in my apartment. In my second year as a cosplayer back in 2016, I posted some of my cosplays on a Facebook page dedicated to gay cosplayers. Unfortunately, none of my pictures were liked, shared, or commented on. I felt that I was fat shamed and in their eyes, I didn't "look a certain way." In other words, I wasn't fit, athletic, or another ethnicity. Soon, the online trolls were picking me apart, mainly because of my overall appearance. My self-esteem went down drastically and felt hopeless.

By the summer of 2017, I decided that enough was enough. I was tired of being ridiculed online and made fun of. I started to work out at my local youth center. It was my first time working out in six years. It boosted my confidence and self-esteem. I felt stronger and more active that I started working out two to three days a week. My weight went up and down for the rest of that year, even for part of 2018. For the next several months, I did everything I could to lose weight: Walking, running, and eating right. I'm happy to announce that as of now, in January 2019, I'm at 160 pounds. Meaning that I lost 40 pounds in two years. I've shared my before and after pictures on social media and received positive feedback. Even my cosplay friends were amazed and excited about my weight loss.

I have many cosplays planned this year, so I'm looking forward to what 2019 has in store for me. You must be wondering what I'm doing now to stay active and be in shape. Well, I've given up certain foods and drinks. For example, sodas, fast food, potato chips, and anything else that was too fattening and greasy. I'm always cautious of the foods and drinks I purchase. I buy mostly salads, smoothies, milk, and anything else that's good for me. Also, I ride by bicycle to and from work and on days when the weather is nice. Plus, walking almost every day was key. As a cosplayer, being active and living longer is a big deal to me. I didn't want to become a statistic: Becoming obese and having health problems in the future. That's why I made a commitment to be in shape and live a healthy lifestyle. For those who are trying to lose weight, you have to motivate yourself and commit to it. It may be hard to begin with, but it takes effort and determination to reach your goals. Remember that you have one body and one life. Take care of it and never take your life for granted.

If you would like to follow me on social media, all of that info is in my bio. Also, if you like the articles I've written and like my content, feel free to send me a small one-off tip that's located towards the end of every article. Your support is greatly appreciated. Happy New Year to everyone and make it a good one.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.